Triple Ginger Cookie Icebox Cake

I disappeared for a few months. If anyone is still reading this, this is my apology.

I have since left New Jersey for New York. I’ve moved into a brand new (for me – it’s actually quite old) apartment without a roommate and I’ve started my first real salaried job. I didn’t take any of my old furniture with me so it’s been a lot of shopping, assembling, moving, and learning. In the midst of it all this blog fell to the wayside. I thought about ending it all – working 80 hours a week hasn’t left much time for myself, Boy, or much else. Checking my email has come down to the 5 minutes before I fall asleep at night. Baking still exists but it is hurried and never that attractive.

But Boy convinced me otherwise and so I’m here. I may not be here as often as before but I’m still here. The purpose of the blog was to push my baking boundaries and that drive still exists. I’m determined to be comfortable with a cupboard of flour and sugar and to know in the back on my mind what I can do with it without having to check the internet.

My little treat for the week was this delicious icebox cake. I was contacted by Andrea several months ago about her new book, The I Love Trader Joe’s College Cookbook. While I’m long out of college, the idea of quick and simple and the idea of Trader Joe’s both resonate with me. I was immediately intrigued.

This cookbook has a TON of great ideas to offer. While you can obviously just wander around TJ’s and eat the food as is, this expands your repertoire without breaking the bank or the clock. This icebox cake took minutes to assemble and just a quick overnight trip to the freezer and it was done! And the flavor is incredible. It tastes as if I slaved all day making the cake layers. The ginger flavor is prominent but well-balanced. I can’t say enough about this. I’m eating the huge piece I photographed right now!

Triple Ginger Cookie Icebox Cake
adapted from The I Love Trader Joe’s College Cookbook by Andrea Lynn

Ingredients

  • 2 9-oz packages Trader Joe‘s Cookie Thins Triple Ginger cookies
  • 1 tbsp minced ginger (I didn’t have any so I used 1/2 tsp ground ginger and 1 tsp crystallized ginger, minced)
  • 2 c heavy cream, chilled
  • 1 tbsp sugar
Instructions
In a large bowl, place ginger, cream, and sugar. Using an electric mixer, beat the cream until stiff peaks form by gradually increasing the speed from low to medium-high. Set aside about one-fifth of the cream and 6 cookies.
Use a spatula to spread about 2 tbsp of the whipped cream on a large plate. Top the cream with a single layer of cookies. Fit as many as possible. Layer with whipped cream. Continue layering cookies followed by cream until you have 8-10 complete layers. When finished, use set-aside whipped cream to cover the top and sides of the cake.
Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate (I stuck mine in the freezer) for at least 8 hours. When ready to serve, crumble set-aside 6 cookies and sprinkle over the top.

As a bonus treat, Andrea was kind enough to send me a book to giveaway as well! Here’s how you can enter to win:

1. Comment on this post for one entry.

2. Advertise via facebook, twitter, blog, whatever. Comment again with what you did for another entry.

Giveaway ends August 12 at midnight!

If you don’t win, you can always purchase the book yourself here.

Thanks for sticking with me.

7 Comments »

  1. Joanne Said:

    What luck! I come by to see whether or not you’re alive and you just happen to have posted today! Coincidence…or the fact that we are psychologically linked. Hmm.

    I’m glad to hear you’re doing okay, albeit exhausted, but that’s what internship is about, right? At least you’re not doing surgery.

    Ginger = heaven in my book. Hellagood.

  2. Hey Sharlene! Nice to see you back for a little while! Congrats on your first year of residency—hopefully it’ll fly by!

    Love ice-box cakes and like the ginger flavor here! 🙂

  3. Long time no see — glad you’re posting again =). As others have said above too I ADORE ginger and this no-bake cake couldn’t be more appealing right now!

  4. I would totally devour a cake like that. Looks divine. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your cookie cake up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/08/sweets-for-saturday-29.html

  5. briarrose Said:

    Oiy….sounds insanely busy. Hang in there. 🙂

    Beautiful cake and so few ingredients to whip this together. Yummy.

  6. Shawn Said:

    Missed your posts but, oh sooo happy for you at this time in your life!

    Ginger cookies and whipped cream are some of my favorites…I can’t wait to make this icebox cake 🙂

  7. GrammaSusan Said:

    Looks lovely. I”ll have to give it a try. Blessings to you. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment