Olive Oil and Coconut Brownies

Let me tell you about these brownies.

They taste like olive oil.

Now, many recipes tout ingredients in their titles that don’t always play a huge role in the flavor category. This one doesn’t. These actually taste like olive oil with some surrounding chocolate and a helping of coconut. So if you don’t like any of those ingredients, I’m sorry but these are probably not the brownies for you.

However, if you do like any (or all) of the above ingredients, you’re going to love these! I happen to be one of those people who could (did? I’m not telling!) eat these in spoonfuls out of the pan, who finds the flavor combination both sublime and addicting. The only real problem for me is that they’re not super awesome washed down with a glass of cold milk. Milk and olive oil? Not the best duo. But olive oil and chocolate and coconut with a few grains of salt? Oh baby, come to mama!

This Week I Ate..

  • Eats Well With Others’ Chicken Enchiladas with Mashed Plantains. After a slightly panicked text message, I was reassured in replacing the red chiles with 3 chipotle peppers (with accompanying adobo sauce) and Boy and I could not love this dish any more. It was the perfect amount of spicy and the queso fresco on top completely won us over. (I used an entire 12 oz block). I wish I still had leftovers.

Olive Oil and Coconut Brownies
adapted from NY Times

Makes 16-25 brownies, depending on how you cut them.

Ingredients

  • 6 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 1/2 heaping tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 c + 1 tbsp water, boiling
  • 1 oz unsweetened or bittersweet chocolate (I used 72%), finely chopped
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 c sugar
  • 1 c + 6 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 heaping tsp kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 oz bittersweet chocolate (I used 60%), coarsely chopped
  • 1 c shredded sweetened coconut
  • extra kosher salt or fleur de sel for sprinkling

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350F. Line an 8×8″ baking pan with foil and grease lightly with extra olive oil. Set aside.

Whisk together cocoa powder with boiling water until smooth. Add 1 oz unsweetened/bittersweet chocolate and whisk until melted and smooth. Whisk in olive oil. Whisk in egg, yolk, and vanilla. Add in sugar and whisk until completely incorporated. Switch to a spatula and fold in flour and salt until just mixed. Fold in coarsely chopped chocolate.

Pour half of the batter into the pan and smooth over. Sprinkle half the coconut over the batter. Then, in big spoonfuls, plop the rest of the batter over top the coconut and smooth over (it’s okay if it’s not perfect). Sprinkle with the remaining coconut and a good dose of sprinkling salt. Bake 25-30 minutes or until just set. Disregard the tester in this case because it won’t come out clean. Allow to cool completely on a rack.

This has been submitted to Sweets for a Saturday!

8 Comments »

  1. Jessica Said:

    Oh I am so glad you sent this in for the recipe challenge next week. These are to die for and I can’t wait to try the,. I love coconut- I could eat it all by itself! You are so creative! Wish I had one with my coffee right now! XO

    Oh and come see my giveaway today if you get a chance! Would love for you to enter!
    XO
    Jessica

  2. I’m not sure I like olive oil this much, but I am super intrigued. Will definitely have to keep these in consideration. Great unique recipe!

  3. I really enjoy eating olive oil cake, so this just may be up my alley. I also like the addition of the coconut! 🙂

  4. Sues Said:

    Oooh! I bet I would like these!! They do remind me of a funny story though… My aunt was making an olive oil cake once and accidentally used garlic olive oil! She had no clue until my cousin walked in the kitchen and said “ooh, it smells nice and garlic-y in here!” My aunt is known for being a bit tight with money so she still tried it to see if she could serve it… But there wasn’t a chance!

  5. Joanne Said:

    So I have never used olive oil in a baked good. Ever. And i feel like I’m severely missing out after seeing these brownies. I have a feeling I would devour at least half the batter before they were baked.

    So glad you liked the enchiladas! And it’s good to know that dried peppers work on those oh-so-frequent occasions when I forget to buy chipotles. I really should just always have a container in the fridge. That would solve the problem.

  6. What an interesting addition to brownies. I like that it’s a healthier choice instead of butter when making these. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your brownies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/03/sweets-for-saturday-8.html

  7. Love the flavour combo. Olive and coconut!! Great brownies.

  8. Claire Said:

    mmm…sounds interesting. gonna try this!

    http://spinning-threads.blogspot.com


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment