Blueberry Applesauce Muffins

I’m planning a trip out of the country.

(YAY!)

We’re flying off to Beijing in May for the wedding of one of the cutest couples I’ve ever met. They did a cross-continent long distance relationship for several years before finally deciding to tie the knot. And they’re having a huge wedding in Beijing to do it! (They’ll have one in the USA too but this is a wonderful excuse to trek over to Asia so I’m going with it.) Boy and I plan on flying out to Beijing, spending a week or so exploring that area of China, and then roaming on over to Japan for a week or so. I’m quite excited even though it’s months and months away.

I’ve begun planning, reading up on how to do Japan on a budget because Tokyo is supposedly the most expensive city in the world. For two broke-as-a-joke medical students, that doesn’t sound good. But I’m determined to make it work.

Any tips on where to go/eat or what to do in Beijing or Japan are more than welcome!!

All this thinking about leaving the country, however, made me already start to miss home. Planning vacations stresses me out a bit and trying to figure out how to cram an entire country in one week is overwhelming. My train was about to pull into freak-out central and that’s never good.

So I made these blueberry muffins to remedy the situation (my growling tummy was thankful too). Oh goodness did they hit the spot! They were spicy (in that cinnamon sort of way) and homey and all sorts of comforting. I guarantee you they’ll give you warm and fuzzies. The crispy little topping was perfect too, a lovely contrast to the soft, moist interior created in part by the addition of applesauce to the typical blueberry muffin mix.

How can you argue with the simplicity of a great blueberry muffin?

In a bite and a half, all was right with the world.

Blueberry Applesauce Muffins
adapted from epicurious

Makes 12 muffins.

Ingredients

For muffins:

  • 1 1/2 c + 1 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground allspice
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 c light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 c (1 stick) + 3 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 c applesauce, unsweetened or cinnamon flavored
  • 1 c fresh blueberries, or frozen and thawed

For topping:

  • 2 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground allspice
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tbsp quick-cooking oats

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400F.

For muffins: Toss blueberries in 1 tbsp flour and set aside.

Whisk together remaining flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt in a bowl and set aside.

In another bowl, whisk together eggs and brown sugar until well combined. Slowly add melted butter, whisking the whole time until creamy. Stir in applesauce followed by flour mixture. Finish by stirring in the blueberries and divide among muffin cups.

For topping: Stir all ingredients together and sprinkle atop muffins.

Bake until puffed and golden, about 20 minutes.

Seriously. Any ideas on what we can/should do in Beijing and/or Japan?

And what makes you feel at home?

12 Comments »

  1. I’m sitting at work cold and grumpy and all I want is one of these muffins. That topping looks so good and would go well with the tea that I’m sipping on right now.

    Also, I’m super excited for you and your trips! A good investment for Japan is to definitely get a Rail Pass that only foreigners can use. It will make your trip there that much better!

    http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2361.html

  2. Wow I’m a terrible travel planner so I totally know what you mean about freaking out. So lame, but I’m actually really comforted by a big bowl of PB oatmeal…or rice porridge with preserved vegetables. I know you’ll get it all figured out and have a BLAST.

  3. Alexis Said:

    I am currently organizing a 100 Cooking Blogs for Students list, and your site was recommended by another blogger. I was wondering if I could ask you a few questions about you and your blog so I could include some info on my list. Please e-mail me at alexisbrett@gmail.com and include the title of your blog in the e-mail, thanks!

  4. shawnsplate Said:

    I can’t wait to try these πŸ™‚

  5. Sues Said:

    Awesome!! It’s one of my goals to visit Japan so I’m looking forward to hearing about your super fun experiences! I’ve ALWAYS wanted to learn Japanese and some day I swear I will πŸ™‚

    These muffins look fabulous… The perfect breakfast treat!

  6. Joanne Said:

    Whoa that is CRAZY exciting! I would love to go to Asia someday. Love love love. Maybe I just need to convince some of my friends to get married there…

    Muffins do make everything right in the world, especially when they’re loaded with cinnamon. Awesome.

    Love the new layout! And I am keeping my weekends free from here on out. just in case you decide to stop by at any given time. Not that I’m waiting by the phone or anything…

  7. I spent a summer in Langfang teaching English with ELIC (English Language Institute of China). It’s about an hour south of Beijing. There are some great touristy things to do in Beijing – the great wall, summer palace, the pearl market…everything was so much fun! Email me if you want more information πŸ™‚ whatmegansmaking[at]gmail[dot]com

  8. justcooknyc Said:

    i’m all about the topping with muffins. regular muffins with no topping… no thanks. these seem like they’re my style.

  9. this look really good… i would like to make this for my family pretty soon. thank you for sharing.

  10. Such warming flavoured muffins! Love them!

  11. Sounds like you are about to have a great adventure! Have fun!!

  12. […] a smiley face made of ketchup, I decided to start Small Town Oven.” Recommended posts: “Blueberry Applesauce Muffins” and “World Peace […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment