World Peace Cookies

Hello! Did you enjoy the reposted recipes last week? They’re certainly some of my favorites and they’re sure crowd-pleasers.

It was nice to be gone but it’s even nicer to come back home.

See, I’ve been gone for over a month spending time at a NYC hospital and then vacationing in London/Dublin (both of which were extremely tiring but much fun indeed). So now, to come home after all that time feels wonderful.

But I’m tired.

So this will be short and sweet so I can take a nap.

Given that I’ve just come from a lovely international vacation, Dorie’s World Peace Cookies seemed like a fitting come-back treat. These cookies are wonderfully crumbly and melt-in-your-mouth. They do take a little bit of time to make because you have to refrigerate them but they’re worth the wait (and if you want to set aside a little bit of egg-free dough to snack on in the meantime I won’t tell). I’m in agreement that if everyone had one of these cookies every day there would be world peace. They sure brought peace to my stomach! (Until I ate the entire batch myself and had a wee bit o’ a tummy ache. Whoops.)

World Peace Cookies
from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking from My Home to Yours

Makes 36 or so cookies.

Ingredients
1 1/4 c all-purpose flour
1/3 c unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 stick plus 3 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
1/3 c packed light brown sugar
1/4 c sugar
1/4 tsp fine sea salt (or 1/2 tsp fleur de sel)
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 c mini chocolate chips

Instructions
Sift flour, cocoa, and baking soda.

In a large bowl and using a hand or stand (paddle attachment if possible) mixer, beat butter on medium speed until creamy. Add both sugars, salt, and vanilla and beat for another 2 minutes. Turn off mixer.

Add all the dry ingredients into the bowl and protect everything possible from the upcoming dusting by placing a towel over the bowl. Pulse the mixer on low for a second or two about 5 times. Peek in and ensure that enough flour is incorporated that you can uncover the bowl. If not, pulse a couple more times. Uncovered, mix for another 30 seconds a low speed just until the flour disappears. Don’t overmix! Add in the chocolate mix briefly.

Turn the dough out onto a work surface and divide in half. Shape each half into a log about 1 1/2 inches in diameter. Wrap the logs in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 3 hours or up to 3 days.

When ready to back, preheat oven to 325 and line baking sheets with parchment.

Slice 1/2 inch thick rounds off the refrigerated logs. If they crumble apart (and they will), just push them back together. Place on baking sheet about 1 inch apart. Bake each sheet one at a time for ~ 12 minutes. They won’t exactly look done but they will be, trust Dorie on this! Transfer the baking sheet to a cooling rack until just warm. EAT EAT EAT!

6 Comments »

  1. Sues Said:

    Yumm these look so perfect and I totally get how they’d promote world peace 🙂

  2. Xiaolu Said:

    Mm these look so delicious. I have Dorie’s book and have been meaning to make this FOREVER.

  3. Dorothy Said:

    World peace? If only 🙂 But I bet those cookies would go a long way towards convincing people to lay down their arms and have a cookie, right? They look awesome, and I’m not typically a chocolate cookie kind of gal.

    I’ve got some awards waiting for you on my blog, so come check them out!

  4. Joanne Said:

    Oh babe I’m glad you’re back in the states but not so glad that you’re not back in NYC. My life feel so much emptier 😦

    World peace cookies. Gotta love em.

  5. Ashley Said:

    Mmm love these cookies!

  6. Jessica Said:

    How adorable! Love the name of these cookies!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment