Honey Walnut Cake

I saved a life today.

The patient was a 28-year-old male who arrived by ambulance after a motor vehicle accident. Upon arrival, his heart went into a dangerous arrhythmia known as ventricular tachycardia or v-tach as we say in the biz and had no pulse. I proceeded to run the code, ordering several rounds of epinephrine and vasopressin, multiple defibrillation shocks, as well as amiodarone (an antiarrhythmic) and lidocaine. I ordered a fellow student to conduct CPR and I quickly intubated the patient for airway management.

He eventually went into a normal sinus rhythm with strong pulses.

We all cheered and I congratulated my team on a job well done.

My patient?

At the end of the day he was packed up into a suitcase of sorts and stored in the closet with all the other mannequins.

I took my ACLS (Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support) class today. 10 hours. Part two is tomorrow. Another 10 hours. Yayyyyyyyyyy!

Pardon me, I’m a bit delirious.

But I’m sane enough to know a good cake when I eat one and this is it. I made this cake yesterday for a little end-of-the-year party a couple friends threw. Sorry for the lack of pictures but, you know, PARTY with DRINKS so.. blogging was on the backburner.

Anyway, delicious cake.

AND! For the first time, I’m submitting something to Regional Recipes! Hollerrrrrrrrr.

I really did save a life today.

REALLY!

Honey Walnut Cake
adapted from epicurious

Makes one 9″ cake.

Ingredients
3/4 c sugar
1 tbsp orange zest
1/2 c unsalted butter, room temperature
2 eggs
1 c all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/2 c buttermilk
1/2 c chopped walnuts (or any nut combo of your choice)

For honey syrup:
1/2 c honey
1/2 c water
1 tbsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp lemon zest

Optional garnish:
fresh fruit (I used strawberries and blueberries)
sweetened whipped cream

Instructions
Preheat oven to 400F. Line a 9″ round cake pan with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and cloves together. Set aside. In a large mixing bowl, rub orange zest into sugar. Cream butter and orange-rubbed sugar together. Add eggs one at a time, mixing thoroughly in between. Alternating, mix the dry ingredients in 3 additions and the buttermilk in 2 additions, finishing with the dry ingredients. Fold in the walnuts. Pour into the prepared cake pan and bake for 30 minutes. Allow to cool in the pan.

While the cake is baking, combine the honey, water, lemon juice, and zest in a saucepan. Bring to a boil and allow to simmer for 5 minutes.

After the cake has cooled in the pan for 10-20 minutes, pour the syrup over the cake, cover, and allow to sit for several hours before serving so the syrup can soak in properly.

Bon appetito!

– Sharlene

1 Comment »

  1. Velva Said:

    Congratulations on your advanced cardiovascular test. Awesome. Your cake looks really good.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment