Bailey’s Cheesecake

My brother’s birthday was last week and when I asked him what kind of cake he wanted for it, he had two words.

“Cheesecake” and “Alcohol.”

The alcohol part I understood. He’s young (23 years to be exact), hip, and just beginning the 3-year road on the way to being a lawyer. Of course he’d want alcohol for his birthday! But cheesecake? Even my mom was surprised. My brother has never enjoyed cheesecake, has never asked for a slice of cheesecake even when we, as a family, have one in the house. He always passes.

So why the change of heart this time?

We celebrated his birthday on Sunday and his finalized request for cake was delivered to me Saturday evening at 5pm so I didn’t really have time to argue with him about whether or not he’d even like his birthday cake. I needed to grocery shop, bring ingredients to room temperature, and bake and chill a whole cheesecake for lunchtime Sunday!

But when we sat down to scarf down this wonderful cheesecake, he told us that two nights before (Friday) he had gone out to dinner and tried out a Bailey’s cheesecake (coincidental that I picked the same alcohol) and realized that he didn’t mind cheesecake so much. He liked dense, rich cheesecakes.

Uh oh.

This was not a dense cheesecake. And the one he tried on Friday was by a friend of a friend who owned a bakery. Could mine live up to it?

Oh blog world friends it did! It carried the flavor of Bailey’s without tasting like hard alcohol, beautifully balanced by the sweet mini chocolate chips and Oreo crust. It was light and airy, owing to my beating the filling like no one’s business and my straining of it at the end, and my brother liked it! The texture was silky smooth and the crust crunchy. Every bite was the perfect bite.

My brother who doesn’t like cheesecakes liked it, going so far to say that it topped the one he had tried two days ago. I don’t think he could have hoped for better.

Even my 93-year-old grandmother who I’ve never seen drink even a drop of alcohol liked it. That’s gotta say something!

Bailey’s Irish Cream Cheesecake
adapted from yumsugar

Ingredients
For crust:

  • 1/2 c pecans, toasted, cooled, and crushed (400F for 15 minutes or until fragrant)
  • 2 c Oreo crumbs (scrape out the filling)
  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 6 tbsp butter, melted

For filling:

  • 2 1/4 lb cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 2/3 c sugar
  • 5 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 c Bailey’s Original Irish Cream
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 c mini chocolate chips

For topping:

  • 1 c heavy whipping cream, chilled
  • 1 tsp instant coffee powder
  • 1/3 c confectioner’s sugar

Instructions
For crust, Preheat oven to 325F. Mix all ingredients in a medium sized bowl until moistened. Press into the bottom and up the sides (as much as you can) of a 10″ spring form pan. Don’t pack it down too hard or it will be impossible to cut the finished crust. Bake 7-10 minutes.

Meanwhile, for the filling, Beat cream cheese with an electric mixer on medium speed 3-5 minutes or until very smooth. Gradually add in the sugar followed by the eggs one at a time, beating for a minute after each addition. Add in the Bailey’s and vanilla and beat another minute or two. At this point, my filling was still a bit lumpy so I strained it quickly before moving on.

Sprinkle half of the chocolate chips over the baked crust. Spoon in filling then sprinkle with remaining chips. Place onto a baking sheet or roasting pan filled partially with warm water. Bake at 325F for 1 hour 20 minutes or until puffed and golden brown. Turn off oven and crack the oven door open, allowing the cake to cool in the oven a bit for 20-30 minutes before removing and chilling in the refrigerator overnight.

For serving, whip the heavy cream until soft peaks form. Add the coffee and sugar and beat until stiff peaks. Taste and adjust accordingly.

You can garnish the cake with chocolate curls or toffee bits but I was pretty happy as it was already.

The aftermath. Not so pretty but definitely yummy!

Are you a fan of alcohol and baking?

11 Comments »

  1. Geez, that looks delicious! I’m glad he liked it. I love brothers, they’re the best critics when it comes to eating something you make—if they like it, then you know it’s good!

  2. Mandy Szeto Said:

    i love cheesecake! kev is an interesting person…

  3. Sues Said:

    Yay! This looks amazing! I Just made cupcakes with Bailey’s frosting so I know how amazing the liquor can be used in desserts 🙂 Now I want to make a cheesecake with it!

  4. briarrose Said:

    I had to bookmark this one. It looks fabulous. I can see why everyone loved it. 🙂

  5. Jessica Said:

    Nothing but shear genius and heavenly eating! I love the use of bailey.s I use alot of coffee liquer in my baking but next time I need to actually try baileys! Love this girl and you make baking a cheescake look so easy!

  6. You probably know from my recent homemade Baileys post how much I love this stuff (liquid crack?!). I’ve been planning to attempt a cheesecake with this flavor for a while, actually. Yours looks amazing!

  7. Joanne Said:

    Bailey’s is my absolute favorite alcoholic product to bake with! I’m convinced that it’s good for the soul. As is cheesecake. Especially one as fluffy as this. I prefer fluffy to dense cheesecakes because it means I can eat more without feeling sick. Good stuff.

  8. Oh dear this just sounds amazing. I looove cheesecake, and baileys:)

  9. GrammaSusan Said:

    Wow, this does look amazing! I took a bottle of Bailey’s from a friend who can’t have alcohol in her home and I don’t really drink either, so this sounds like a great way to use up some of it. Way to go!!!

  10. Alicia Said:

    omg that looks delicious!! I can taste it. I love anything cheesecake haha. and I love baileys. I hate coffee, but I love coffee liqeuer’s and flavoring!

  11. you got me on the bailey’s haha … i could almost smell and taste it. I saw you comment on Joanne’s blog which brought me here.

    Great to meet another Filipino blogger…

    cheers!
    Malou


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

