Pig Cake

I have been ridiculously MIA from blogging this past week. As we approach the end of an era (my formal education years), it’s getting quite hectic and I’m trying desperately to spend as much time with my family and friends as possible before my job (JOB! WOOHOO!) starts in June and I move away (not far away but away) and spend sleepless nights at the hospital.

As I mentioned in a previous post, Match Day, or the day all graduating medical students across the country find out where they’ll be working this coming year, was this past Thursday. It was nerve wracking, anxiety inducing, makes-you-need-to-pee-and-want-to-vomit-all-at-the-same-time, and all around torture. But we all got through it. I got my number 2 choice in New York if you’re all wondering. I’m quite happy. Boy is too (he also got his number 2, also in New York, but different institution).

To celebrate, I quickly whipped up this Pig Cake before we all went out for an evening of bad decisions. It was everything I wanted to be. Very few ingredients, meaning less time at the grocery store, whipped up in a matter of minutes, meaning more time hanging out, and tasted wonderfully. Also, it was a single layer cake, perfect for large crowds and for even less kitchen fuss. The cake itself was moist and light and just a bit tropical tasting with the addition of mandarin oranges. The topping was a pure dream. It, too, was light and fluffy with scrumptious chunks of pineapple. The whole cake was sweet but not too sweet and fit in perfectly for the joyous occasion. This will definitely be made again and again without hesitation. I don’t know why exactly it’s called Pig Cake (PW doesn’t either) but I can only surmise that it’s because it’s so incredibly delicious you can’t help but be a little piggy eating more and more!

Sorry there’s only one picture! I was too busy drinking champagne.

Pig Cake
adapted from the Pioneer Woman

Ingredients

For cake:

  • 1 box Yellow Cake mix (I used Duncan Hines)
  • 1/2 c (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 14 oz can of mandarin oranges, drained, 1/2 c juice reserved
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

For topping:

  • 1 package vanilla instant pudding mix
  • 20 oz can of crushed pineapple, drained, juice reserved
  • 1/2 c powdered sugar
  • 4 oz Cool Whip
  • extra mandarin oranges for garnish, optional

Instructions
For cake: Preheat oven to 350F. Grease and flour a 9×13″ baking pan.

Using an electric mixer, combine cake mix, butter, reserved juice, eggs, and vanilla on medium-high (start out slow to prevent cake mix from flying everywhere) for 4 minutes. Add oranges and beat until they are broken up into small pieces. Pour into prepared pan and bake 30-40 minutes or until golden brown and set. Cool completely.

For topping: Mix together vanilla pudding mix and reserved juice. Add powdered sugar followed by the whipped topping, mixing to combine. Stir in pineapple. Spread on cooled cake and refrigerate several hours before serving. Serve with extra mandarin oranges if desired.

What’s your reason to celebrate this week?

11 Comments »

  1. Mandy Szeto Said:

    Congrats Sharlene! I wish you the best of luck in your resident years. I am glad to hear Nelson will be close too.

    I am still surprised you have time to write entries! Have a great last semester!

  2. This cake looks yummy:) Good luck! 🙂

  3. Shawn Said:

    Congratulations! I’ve been on pins & needles 🙂
    I’d never heard of Piggy Cake until this post. Wow, was I missing out!

  4. Sues Said:

    Congrats- that’s fabulous!! I’m so happy you and the boy will be working in the same city 🙂 Must be such a good feeling!

  5. Congrats on everything!

    The whipped frosting on that cake looks both rich and fluffy. Yum!

  6. That cake looks wonderful and congratulations!

    xo

  7. briarrose Said:

    Congrats on your 2nd choice. 🙂

    I love the name of this cake…so cute.

  8. Joanne Said:

    YAY!!!! I am SO happy for you! I was on the edge of my seat wondering where you got in (but didn’t want to ask in case you were disappointed). I knew I’d find out eventually. 😛

    And now you’ll be closer to me! Or at least in the same state! And you and the boy can stay together!!! AHHH! Exciting.

    Cake looks wonderful. Love it.

  9. Jessica Said:

    Be still my heart! How come I have never heard of pig cake before? Sounds utterly amazing!

  10. Pig cake! How interesting. Love it!

  11. Congratulations to you! I like how you celebrate!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

