PB Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

This is the biggest week in my medical school career.

On Thursday, I find out where I am employed for the next four years of my life, where I will make my lifelong connections, where I will train to be the best possible physician I can be. At noon, my entire class will open our envelops containing the destination we’ve worked so hard to get to for the past four years. We’ll find out how far away we’ll be leaving one another. There will be tears of happiness and tears of sadness.

The thought of it makes me want to vomit.

Which is where this cookie cake comes in!

From the moment I saw this on Ellie’s blog, I knew I’d be making it in a time of turmoil. It looked comforting, inviting, and warm. And after all was said and done and I was eating my first slice, I knew it was exactly what I needed. The butterflies in my stomach vanished for a moment as I filled it instead with chocolate, peanut butter, and marshmallow goodness. How could I be stressed with a mouthful of what tastes like unbaked cookie dough?

Unfortunately, in my moment of need last night I polished off more of the cake than I anticipated. I’m not sure how I’m going to tide my nerves between now and Thursday now!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake
adapted from Almost Bourdain

Makes 1 9″ cake.

Ingredients

  • 1 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 5 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 c smooth peanut butter
  • 1 c lightly packed light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/4 c chocolate chips (I used 60% cacao)
  • 1 c minimarshmallows

Instructions
Preheat oven to 355F. Grease and line a 9″ circular cake pan. Set aside.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt in a medium sized bowl. Set aside. Using an electric mixer, cream together butter, peanut butter, sugar, and vanilla for 1-2 minutes or until well combined. Add in egg and beat another minute on medium speed, scraping down sides as needed. Switching to low speed, mix in dry ingredients until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips and marshmallows with a spatula. Pour into prepared pan and bake for 18-22 minutes. Allow to cool for 10 minutes in pan before running knife around edge. Then cool in pan for at least 4 hours before turning out and serving.

 

What kind of week are you having?

11 Comments »

  1. Good luck! I hope you only cry tears of happiness! 🙂

  2. Sues Said:

    You’re totally allowed!! I hope you’re crying teats of happiness too, but no matter where you go I’m sure you’ll do fabulously! And your blog friends are always here 🙂 I LOVE anything that tastes like uncooked cookie dough 🙂

  3. Shawn Said:

    I have to make this too!

    Wishing you tears of happiness!

  4. Jessica Said:

    It looks just like the ones you get from the mall! Kudos- this is delicious and I love nothing more than a big slice or chunk of cookie! Love it

  5. Wow good luck today! What a momentous occasion and I think it’s so lovely that you guys find out together, same as you’ve worked hard to get through the last few years. I also recall drooling over this on Ellie’s website. Looks fantastic, and indeed a good source of comfort in these troubled times…

  6. my husband would absolutely fall in love with this! I will have to make it for him! Thanks so much for sharing.

    xo

  7. Eva Said:

    I LOVE cookie cakes, they’re the best!! Never thought of putting mini marshmallows in them though, what an excellent idea 🙂

  8. Joanne Said:

    Oh match day. Gotta love/hate it.

    SOOOOOO…..I’M ON THE EDGE OF MY SEAT!

    This PB cookie cake was definitely necessary. I would have eaten the whole thing out of sheer anxiety. I would probably also eat the whole thing just because.

  9. Mandy Said:

    Okay, it is friday! where are you going?

  10. This cake is addictive!! Glad you liked it. Thanks for the shout out.

  11. Oh man…This looks sooo good…almost too good!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

