Coconut Half-Pound Cake

In all my “carpe diem”-ing, I took a small trip down to Philadelphia this past weekend to visit a friend from school who recently moved there. And, as per my usual, I decided the morning of to bake something. Anything, so long as it was good.

I took a quick survey of my kitchen and found leftover shredded coconut and not much else. After a quick Google search, this cake was it. And I’m so glad it was because it was a definite hit among my two girlfriend and myself as we polished off half of it that afternoon. Luckily, we have large enough stomachs that it didn’t spoil our dinner. I threw in a touch of almond extract at the last minute and was told that the addition made the cake. A tender crumb, moist coconut, and the delicious idea of sprinkling some vanilla sugar over top all made the perfect afternoon snack.

Unfortunately, in all the rush, I neglected to take pictures of the cake slices. Trust me that it was delicious. Also, had I taken pictures of the inside, you’d have seen little flecks of vanilla bean because the original recipe called for it. The end result, however, didn’t exactly showcase the vanilla so I omitted that in the recipe below. If you opt out of the almond extract you may find the vanilla bean flavor present but I love the almond and coconut combination.

Note: I call this a half-pound cake because the eggs and butter are only half a pound and not the classic pound. I also think it’s a cuter title this way.

Coconut Half-Pound Cake
adapted from the Naptime Chef

Makes 1 9×5″ loaf.

Ingredients

  • 1 c (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 c all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 4 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • heaping 1 c sweetened shredded coconut, divided
  • vanilla sugar

Instructions
Preheat oven to 325F. Grease a 9×5″ loaf and set aside.

Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside. Using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add eggs approximately one egg at a time, beating until thoroughly mixed after each addition. Add extracts and combine. On low speed, slowly add in the flour until just incorporated. Fold in 3/4 c coconut with a spatula. Pour into prepared pan and bake 45 minutes.

After 45 minutes, sprinkle remaining coconut and a good helping of vanilla sugar over loaf and continue baking another 15 minutes, or until tester comes out clean. Cool completely. Eat, eat, eat!

13 Comments »

  1. jackie Said:

    This looks absolutely delish!!

  2. wow! This looks absolutely divine!!!!

    xo

  3. Shawn Said:

    In my opinion, you can’t go wrong with coconut/almond/vanilla. The cake looks delicious! I can almost smell it through the screen 🙂

  4. Jessica Said:

    I love coconut and I love pound cake so how can I not LOVE this dish! Excellent my friend!
    Came by to ask you to join my recipe challenge this month. The post will be next wednesday and I would love for you to join me. Just send me a pic when you can of anything new you have cooked so far this month and I will post everyone’s pics and link it back to their blogs! Oh PLEASE join! Your a fabulous cook! Oh and I won’t take no for an answer! LOL!

  5. Wonderful sounding pound cake, can’t wait to try.

  6. Coconut and almond flavors sound great! Your cake looks so good, and I would have definitely helped polish it off too. 🙂

  7. Anything with coconut will always catch my eye! Since it’s a half pound cake, that means we can eat twice as much, right?

  8. briarrose Said:

    Coconut and almond….sounds like a delicious cake combination. I could go for a slice right about now. My current chocolate obsession made me want to sneak some mini chocolate chips into the batter though. 😉

  9. Kelsey Said:

    I am so glad you liked the cake and I love your adaptations! Best, Kelsey

  10. Joanne Said:

    I’m glad I’m not the only impulse baker out there. I just found some shredded coconut hidden in my apartment and feel compelled to do something with it. Sharlene to the rescue!

  11. Love the name “Half Pound Cake”!!! Looks decadent!

  12. This looks delicious. I love coconut.

  13. Haha I was wondering about the “half-pound” title. And I’m so glad you got to see your friends. What a treat it must have been for them — both the cake and your visit 8).


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

