Apricot Jam Cookies

Wind.

It’s freezing outside right now. The cold wind whips your hair into your face and slaps you hard. It is unrelenting, unforgiving, and chills you to the bone. After a couple days of relative warmth, days when the growing pile of snow actually began to melt away, the dreaded winter came back with a vengeance.

I am not amused, Winter, not amused at all.

Those two days you gave us, that little taste of a warmer and happier time, they were a tease. I was ten times more productive than I am now. I ran errands with a smile on my face. I didn’t have to religiously apply lotion to my dry, cracked hands. I didn’t have to sit shivering in my car waiting for it to warm up before I break out of my hunched, freezing position.

And now?

Now I’m sitting inside, moping with a cup of tea in my hand.

Now I’m munching on these tiny bites of buttery, gingery perfection.

I suppose I should be angry with you, Winter, for forcing me back indoors to wrap myself in blankets and try to hibernates some more. But you know what? I’m happy because these cookies are absolutely, positively delicious and had you not turned your back on me yet again I would not have been inspired to make them to accompany my steaming cup of Earl Grey.

SO THERE!

You all know how I loves me some Dorie Greenspan. Flipping through her book, I always find a new recipe to try, perfect for the mood I’m in. These cookies certainly did the trick. The addition of ground ginger gives it a warming spice and the delicate sweetness of the apricot jam make it a perfect pairing for a cup of tea. Friends asked if the flavors were orange, it’s so difficult to decipher what the taste is though you know it’s delicious. The cookie is balanced, takes minutes to whip up, and is a wonderful bite for a snack, for tea, for dessert, for battling the cold, or for whatever your heart desires.

Apricot Jam Cookies
adapted from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking from My Home to Yours

Makes ~45 cookies.

Ingredients

  • 2 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2/3 c granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp whole milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 c apricot jam (I used preserves.)

Instructions
Preheat oven to 375F, positioning two racks in the top and bottom thirds of the oven. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, ginger, and salt. Set aside. Using a stand or hand mixer, cream butter for a minute or so. Add in sugar and beat on medium speed for 2-3 minutes. Mix in the egg, beating until well-combined. Add the milk and vanilla and mix. It will look scary and curdled but don’t fret, it’ll come together. On low speed, beat in the jam or preserves. Finally, add in the flour mixture and mix until the flour just disappears. You’ll have quite a thick dough.

Drop heaping teaspoonfuls of batter approximately 1 inch apart onto the baking sheets. Bake the sheets for 15 minutes, rotating them from top to bottom and front to back halfway through (if you remember – I did not and the cookies turned out fine). Allow to cool on the sheet for 1 minute before transferring the cookies to a wire rack to cool completely. Repeat with remaining dough once baking sheets are cooled.

Are you having good weather? If so, I’m jealous.

5 Comments »

  1. kathleen Said:

    These look soooo yummy! I love Dorie!!! Sorry to hear about your weather 😦 You don’t even want to know what the weather is like in Socal.

  2. Shawn Said:

    The thought of ginger, apricot jam, and butter has me in a trance!

  3. Ashley Said:

    These look so yummy! I have been wanting to make these jam cookies forever but sadly still haven’t.

  4. nickskitchen Said:

    These sound so good! Bookmarked to try!

  5. […] Apricot Jam Cookies (with a ginger kick!) […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

