Red Bean Mochi Cake

Happy Chinese New Year!!

I’m not Chinese but Boy is (actually, he’s Taiwanese and he makes a big fuss over the difference.. but they all still celebrate CNY) so I decided this year I would find a way to be a part of his tradition.

While we’ll be having our own little CNY celebration later today, he went back to his parents’ house last night (they live an hour away) and I wanted to send a little gift home with him. After several hours of researching about the traditions of CNY and looking at a whole bunch of Asian recipes, I settled on this one from Tiny Urban Kitchen. “Nian gao” can have a dual meaning of both “sticky cake” and “high/tall year.” The latter meaning is often used during CNY to signify reaching new heights in the new year. I also liked this recipe because it incorporates red beans, one of my favorite flavors and coincidentally the lucky color in Chinese culture. The recipe was quite simple to make with ingredients easily found at my local Asian supermarket. So I sent Boy off home with eight slices of the loaf.

Why eight?

Eight is the luckiest number in Chinese culture. I ended up cutting the loaf into 12 pieces but I got worried that 12 may be unlucky somehow and I didn’t want to chance offending anyone so I played it safe and went with eight. The loaf was well-received and thankfully no one made any comments that I had accidentally ruined their New Year.

CNY is a 15-day celebration so you’re by no means late if you make this within the next two weeks. Although, you can always just stick to the “sticky cake” meaning and make it all year round (which is what I plan to do anyhow)! If you’ve never had mochi before, it’s sticky in the best way possible, not very sweet, and just subtly flavored by the red bean in this version. I highly recommend trying it. You won’t be disappointed!

Red Bean Mochi Cake (Nian Gao)
adapted from Tiny Urban Kitchen

Makes 2 loaves, 1 9×13 cake, or 24 cupcakes.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb Mochiko sweet rice flour (found in Asian markets or here)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 c vegetable oil
  • 2 c milk (I used 2%)
  • 1 1/4 c sugar
  • 3/4 c red bean paste (also found in Asian markets)

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350F. (No need to line your pans.)

Mix all ingredients except the red bean paste together in a large bowl. Add in the red bean paste. Divide among pans. Bake for 45 min – 1 hour, or until a knife comes out clean. Cut and enjoy either warmed or at room temperature.

HOW EASY IS THAT?!

Here’s to the Year of the Rabbit!

6 Comments »

  1. Mmm this looks delish! Happy CNY to you! I’ve yet to attempt authentic mochi cake like nian gao or actual mochi, but I’ve made a blueberry mochi butter cake that went over great even with my non-Asian coworkers.

  2. briarrose Said:

    What a neat recipe and so easy to make.

  3. Shawn Said:

    Looks yummy!

  4. I made a chocolate red bean mochi cake and it was delicious! I will try it without the chocolate next!

  5. Joanne Said:

    First of all, mochi is like my most favorite thing on this earth. Or one of them at least. A whole cake of it?!?!? What are you tyring to do to my thighs!

  6. now THIS is quite interesting! Red beans mixed into a cake? Hmmmm…I’m definitely intrigued!

    I’m not aware of an Asian supermarket near me, but perhaps the Indian grocery store we go to might have the red bean paste and sweet rice flour. I hope so because I would love to try this and see how it tastes! 🙂

    I’ve bookmarked the recipe so I can make it if I can find the ingredients. Here’s hoping! 🙂 Have a great weekend, sheila

    P.S. Happy Chinese New Year to ya! I’m a rabbit and will cut the cake in 8 pieces like you did for luck. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

