Homemade Oreos

I’m starting a new feature on my blog called This Week I Ate…

With the new year and my impending first salaried position coming this July, I’ve decided that now more than ever I need to put myself on a budget and cook more meals. I used to cook quite a bit in my first two years of med school but long hours in the hospital during third year definitely lent itself to eating out a lot more and sometimes just going to bed without eating, too tired to put in the effort.

But I’m turning a new leaf! And to keep me somewhat accountable, I’m going to document the things I make here. However, since this was never meant to be a blog about what I had for dinner, I often don’t have the patience to photograph hot food before I dig in, and I currently don’t have much of a desire to start making up my own recipes in that field, this will just be a side project. More of a bullet point list with a small review.

Like this!

This Week I Ate…

  • Xiaolu’s Boy-Approved Spiked Pasta (Spaghetti with Vodka Cream Sauce). It was certainly Boy-approved on my end as well. I used ground cayenne pepper instead of the crushed which gave a lot of kick but to quote Boy, “I think cayenne is your secret ingredient. You can make everything taste good with it!” And I agree. (So do the Neely’s if you ever watch them or make their stuff.) The sauce was easy for a weeknight meal and I had everything on hand already! Also, since med school started I’ve seriously lost my ability to imbibe so there’s a lot of vodka in this place that is taking a very long time to consume.
  • Sara’s Baked Fish Sticks with Tartar Sauce. One of my few attempts at making seafood (it scares me for some reason?). I’ve made these before and while the fish sticks are great and healthy and you should probably make these for that reason alone, the real star here in my opinion is the tartar sauce. Boy agrees. We could dip anything into that sauce and it’d be delicious.

Okay. Onto the recipe. I’ve made these Oreos three times now (2 of those time in my preblogging days) and they never ever disappoint. How could they? They’re OREOS for crying out loud. It’s no secret I’m a fan as evidenced by these, this, and these. But making them from scratch just adds that extra element of love and handmade kitsch that elevate these to a whole new level. The filling tastes nearly identical to the store-bought brand and the wafers are not overpowering in sweetness. I’m in love.

Homemade Oreos
adapted from smitten kitchen, originally from Retro Desserts

Makes 25-30 sandwich cookies.

Ingredients

For wafers:

  • 1 1/4 c all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 c unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 c granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c (1 stick) + 2 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 large egg

For filling:

  • 1/4 c (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 c vegetable shortening
  • 2 c sifted confectioner’s sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions
For wafers: Preheat oven to 375F and prepare line baking sheets with parchment paper. In a food processor or with an electric mixer, combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and sugar. While pulsing or on low speed, add in the butter and egg until the dough comes together in a mass. Place rounded teaspoonfuls of batter onto prepared sheets about 2 inches apart. With moist hands, gently press down on dough to flatten tops slightly. Bake for approximately 9 minutes, rotating once. Let sheets cool on racks.

For filling: Cream together butter and shortening using a stand or hand mixer. Then slowly add in the sugar and vanilla extract. When combined, beat on high for another 2-3 minutes or until fluffy.

To assemble: Find two cookies similar in size. Pipe or spread about 1 tsp of filling onto the bottom of one cookie. Create a sandwich by pressing the bottom of the other cookie into the filling, gently working the filling to the edges of the cookies. Voila!

Have you recreated any childhood favorites lately?

7 Comments »

  1. briarrose Said:

    Yummy. The cookies look fantastic. I would so need a couple in the name of cookie therapy. šŸ˜‰ Happy food…yes yes.

    I cook dinner all the time, but I don’t always take pictures of it. Desserts are easy. I have plenty of time to photograph and tinker. Dinner has a very narrow window of opportunity. šŸ˜‰

  2. I’ve made these too! They’re so good šŸ™‚ Next I want to try something similar, but with a chewy cookie!

  3. Xiaolu Said:

    Love the new feature and I’m so glad you enjoyed the pasta! It’s totally become a lifesaver for me many nights when dinner time sneaks up on us and I need to whip up a near-instant dinner. Homemade Oreos look delicious and healthier than the store-bought version that I believe still contains tiny amounts of trans fat (ew). Big DIY-er over here, too.

  4. Joanne Said:

    I’m excited for your new feature! I love knowing what my favorite people are eating. Constantly.

    These oreos look fantastic! I can’t be trusted around a box of Oreos. but maybe if I made them myself, I’d have more self control? Doubtful. But totally worth it.

  5. Jihane Said:

    i’m going to make these! i’ve decided šŸ™‚

  6. shawnsplate Said:

    What an “on time” post! My husband and daughter are always asking for Oreos. They’ll be so happy. I’m thanking you in advance for them šŸ™‚

  7. shawnsplate Said:

    P.S. ‘ Love your new feature!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

