Everyday Cinnamon Rolls

How was everyone’s Christmas? I hope you shared some gifts and some love and some laughter!

I’m sure many of you had cinnamon rolls these past few days, or maybe you haven’t caught on yet and are looking for a way in.

So I’ll help you out and show you the ones I made yesterday! Because yesterday, this happened:

There’s somewhere over 2 feet of snow out there. It all started at 11am and let up overnight or maybe early this morning, I’m not quite sure. On Christmas Day my family went to our annual Christmas Part 2 party and late that night we all managed to get sick. So being snowed in the day after was quite welcome. It meant a day of recovery and rest but also a day of me and my brother on the couch watching tv, laptops in front of us, hanging out while my parents and grandmother hibernated in their rooms. There was little eating due to the previous night’s events but at some point in the afternoon I needed some sustenance.

Don’t get me wrong, there was plenty of food to be had since we hold the Christmas Eve party (Christmas Part 1) and there were quite a few leftovers. But.. I wanted something warm, fresh from the oven, full of cinnamon, and covered in sweet glaze.

I had to have cinnamon rolls.

As I’ve shared before, I’m in love with the Pioneer Woman’s cinnamon rolls and apparently snow = cinnamon rolls in my mind because it snowed back then too. The only “problem” with that recipe is that it has to rest/rise for a long period of time, makes a TON of rolls, and involves a good amount of butter/oil. (Is too much butter really a problem? My heart says no. My thighs say yes. Help.) So I was in search of an easier and more figure-friendly recipe.

And here it is.

From Our Best Bites, this recipe can be baking in a little over an hour and only have a 1 3/4 sticks of butter in it! Plus it only makes 12, perfect for everyone to have their fair share without clogging too many arteries. (Trust me, I’m a doctor.) The rolls came out wonderfully soft and airy. Just enough cinnamon to be present but not overpowering. A tiny bit of glaze as a perfect “cherry on top”  but they’re not drowning (which, admittedly, I do sometimes want). These are excellent “everyday” cinnamon rolls. They’re not over-the-top but they fit the bill for any cinnamon roll craving.

You know you want a bite!

Everyday Cinnamon Rolls
adapted from Our Best Bites, originally from AllRecipes

Makes 12.

Ingredients

For dough:

  • 1 c milk, divided
  • 4 tbsp (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, cut into chunks
  • 3 1/4 – 3 1/2 c all-purpose flour, divided
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 c white granulated sugar
  • 1 packet instant yeast (2 1/4 tsp)
  • 1 egg

For filling:

  • 1/2 c (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 c packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 c white granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp ground cinnamon

For glaze:

  • 1 1/2 c confectioner’s sugar
  • 1-2 tbsp milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted

Instructions
For dough: In a microwaveable bowl, heat 3/4 c milk and butter for 90 seconds. Stir, add remaining milk, and let cool until lukewarm. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment or large bowl for a hand mixer, whisk together flour, salt, sugar, and yeast. Once milk has cooled to lukewarm, begin pouring milk into flour mixture while mixing constantly. Add in the egg and beat until well combined. Slowly add in the remaining 1 1/4 – 1 1/2 c flour and mix until the dough just barely leaves the sides of the bowl. Switch to a dough hook or knead by hand on a well floured surface for 5 minutes. Allow dough to rest on a well-floured surface for 10 minutes.

For filling: Mix butter, sugars, and cinnamon until well combined.

For assembly: Butter or spray 9 x 13″ baking pan. Roll out dough to 12 x 18″ rectangle. Spread filling over dough using the back of a spoon as needed. Roll the long sides and pinch the ends closed. Score and cut out 12 rolls, placing them in the prepared pan. Allow to rise for 30 minutes, covered with a clean towel. (I did this by heating my oven to 200F then turning it off, placing the rolls in, and leaving the oven door ajar.) Bake at 350F for 15-20 minutes or until lightly golden brown.

For glaze: Mix sugar, milk, vanilla, and butter together until smooth. Adjust with extra sugar or milk as needed. Pour over warm rolls.

Friends, I got a Kindle for Christmas from Boy. (I know. He’s a keeper!) Do you read? If so, any recommendations?

7 Comments »

  1. Sues Said:

    I made Pioneer Woman’s cinnamon buns for the second Christmas in a row and omg I wish I had the leftovers here right now!

    Congrats on the kindle!! I’ve been reading non-stop on the iPad… If you haven’t read the Hunger Games books yet, you need to! It’s young adult, but so good. I also just finished reading Room and it was awesome.

  2. briarrose Said:

    A wonderful day for cinnamon rolls. 🙂 Wonderful job.

  3. Joanne Said:

    Next year, when I start to hear word that a blizzard is going to hit, you are coming over and we are going to get snowed in together. Because I need to reap the benefits of your need for cinnamon rolls whenever it starts to snow. These look awesome and I love how quick and healthy they are! 😛

  4. I’ve heard great things about PW’s recipe from all corners of the net, but I admit that I just couldn’t put that much butter into anything. Thanks for confirming that there’s a good recipe out there that’s not such a hit to the arteries. Happy New Year, girl!

  5. shawnsplate Said:

    They look incredibly good! I made cinnamon rolls too. I used Joy The Baker’s recipe on Tasty Kitchen. My husband is already asking for more, so I’ll try your recipe for Saturday.

    Belated Merry Christmas…
    Happy New Year!

  6. Lovely cinnamon rolls! I always dream of a white Christmas. Hopefully I will experience it one day.

  7. I’ll take a dozen of these, please :)__


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

