Homemade Caramel

Merry Christmas Eve, everyone!!

Are you all ready for the craziness?

I’m not. Still one more gift to wrap and cookies to bake.. but we’re getting there.

I served these caramels at my holiday party last Friday and between then and now I’m still working on finishing them. They’re wonderfully vanilla-y, creamy, and the little bit of sea salt on top is a touch of perfection. They’re rich though and we usually just eat a piece or two at a time so they’ve been taking a little bit to consume. The good thing is they keep really well in an air-tight container so make these today, gift them to people you may have missed, or eat them all yourself.

You won’t regret it.

I hope everyone has a fun and safe holiday, that you all get what you need and maybe all that you asked for as well, that you all spend it with the people you love the most and that you get a chance to go “home” wherever that may be in your heart.

I’ll be back next week before the New Year’s!


Homemade Caramels
adapted from AllRecipes, seen on Sinful Sundays and Shawn’s Plate

Makes 1 tray.

Ingredients

  • 2 c granulated sugar
  • 1 c packed brown sugar
  • 1 c corn syrup
  • 1 c evaporated milk
  • 2 c heavy cream
  • 1 c (2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • candy thermometer
  • sea salt for sprinkling

Instructions
Grease a 12×15 inch baking sheet. Tread lightly as these are not likely to stick.

In a medium-sized pot, combine both sugars, corn syrup, evaporated milk, heavy cream, and butter. Place the pot over medium-low heat, erring on the side of low. Stirring constantly and while monitoring the temperature, bring the mixture to 250F. This will take nearly an hour so sit back and be patient.

Once up to 250F, take the pot off the heat and stir in the vanilla. Pour the caramel into the baking sheet. Allow to set up a bit before sprinkling sea salt all over the top of the caramel. Let cool completely before cutting up into little caramels. Store in an airtight container using wax paper to separate layers of caramels.

Happy Holidays!!

7 Comments »

  1. shawnsplate Said:

    I’m so glad that you made them…How did you find the time?! They look beautiful 🙂

    P.S. Wishing you a Very Merry Christmas!

  2. Joanne Said:

    Merry Christmas lovely! These caramels look beautiful! After my Thanksgiving caramel-sauce-making expedition, I’ve really been wanting to try to make my own caramels. Maybe for the next big holiday…

    I miss you girl! My life has one big Sharlene-sized void in it. It’s sad.

  3. Deeba @ PAB Said:

    Merry Christmas…oooh I like those caramels. have never made any before, and these do look indulgent. What a great holiday gift these would make … mmm!

  4. briarrose Said:

    Mmmm…caramel….my favorite.

  5. How wonderful do these look? I will for sure be giving this recipe a try!

    xo

  6. These look delicious and I especially can’t resist salted caramels. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas!

  7. Alisa Said:

    Oh how I love how you made these caramels. First time I tried it, it turned hard as a rock, but I’d love to make it again with your recipe.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

