New York-Style Crumb Cake

I am currently sitting in a hotel room in between an interview I had today and the dinner for my interview I have tomorrow.

I am tired.

I cannot wait to be done with interview season.

Especially so I can bake this cake again because it is the one and only thing my dad has outright told me I must make again. It’s that good.

One of my interviewers today saw that my personal statement had mentioned my love for baking (since I couldn’t think of anything else to write about besides cupcakes). She asked what my favorite thing to bake was and then what was my favorite bakery.

I could have very easily said Baked in Brooklyn since I’ve now tried making their brownies and this cake. But perhaps that wouldn’t be truly honest since I’ve never actually made the trek over to spend actual money there. (Have you? Did you like it?) So, instead, I picked Two Little Red Hens. Their cupcakes are the perfect size and are absolutely delicious. I haven’t sampled their other items quite yet but I’m happy munching on their red velvet!

Anyway, back to this cake. It’s moist and the crumble on top is the quintessential dense, chunky, and just perfectly sweet topping to this delicately flavored cake. The whole thing really just melts in your mouth probably due to the butter content but it’s nearly sublime. If you’re a fan of coffee cake at all, especially New York-style with it’s big topping to cake ratio, this is the cake for you. I’m sure of it. This is also perfect if you’re attending any holiday brunches or afternoon teas! (If you actually attend afternoon tea, please invite me because I love afternoon tea.)

New York-Style Crumb Cake
from Baked Explorations

Makes 1 9×13″ cake.

Ingredients

For Topping:

  • 1 c firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 c (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted but still warm
  • 2 1/2 c all-purpose flour

For Cake:

  • 2 1/2 c all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 12 tbsp (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 c sour cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions
For Crumb Topping: Whisk together sugars, salt, and cinnamon in a medium bowl. Whisk in the melted butter until combined. Then fold in the flour until absorbed and set aside to dry. Drying creates the big crumb chunks.

For Cake: Grease a 9×13″ pan and set aside. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl. Set aside.

With a hand or stand mixer with paddle attachment, cream the butter until smooth and ribbonlike, scraping down the bowl as needed. Add sugar and beat until fluffy. Add in eggs, one at a time, beating until incorporated. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and beat for another 30 seconds. Add sour cream and vanilla and beat until just combined. Add dry ingredients in 3 parts and beat until just incorporated.

Pour batter into prepared pan. Then take a handful of the crumb mixture and make a fist. The topping should hold together. Break off chunks of this and sprinkle all over cake. Continue until all the crumb is distributed. It will look like a lot but trust me (and the friend over at Baked). Bake for 45-55 minutes, rotating twice, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack for 30 minutes prior to serving.

 

What’s your favorite bakery?

9 Comments »

  1. Oh my word! This looks absolutely amazing. I am definitely going to have to give this recipe a try!

    xo

  2. Very interesting and love the flavours.

  3. Looks like the crumb cake I know and love. Yummy!

  4. Joanne Said:

    My favorite bakery is my kitchen. Or your kitchen. It’s a toss up. Milk bar. Yes.

    Interviews sound so taxing! yuck.

    This crumb cake. Beautiful. After my grasshopper bars, I would totally have said Baked. On principle alone.

  5. briarrose Said:

    I love a good crumb cake and this one looks amazing. The crust looks just wonderful.

  6. GrammaSusan Said:

    This looks absolutely awesome!! But, I’m not kidding when I say – you really must use Watkins Cinnamon next time. You will be amazed at the difference this specially ground (it has won world’s fair awards) purest Cinnamon makes in all your recipes! You can buy it from me, but even if you don’t, just get some from someone. You will not be sorry. 🙂

    Oh, and I really liked your last post about helping your sick mom and grandma. You’re a sweet daughter I can tell.

  7. Sues Said:

    Yum! This looks pretty fabulous 🙂 Good luck with the interviews!

  8. Yum! My favorite part of coffee cake is the crumb topping, and yours looks fabulous!

  9. 泳鏡 Said:

    You certainly deserve a round of applause for your post and more specifically, your blog in general. Very high quality material.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

