Oreo Surprise Chocolate Chip Cookies

I have a confession to make.

I have a mixer and I’m not afraid to use it.

I know I should only be using it for the greater good. With my special powers in and around the oven I should really be a superhero of sorts but sometimes sometimes I use it for evil.

To get my way.

It’s terrible but true and I am ashamed but probably not ashamed enough to never do it again and it comforts me to think that perhaps someone else out there has done the same thing? Or something like it? Come on, you know you’re out there!

So this is what happened. My medical school rotates through several hospitals, the closest being 5 minutes away and the furthest being 40 minutes away. This seems to be a no-brainer, yes? Wouldn’t you want to do your rotations close by so you don’t waste precious hours driving? Except what if the other hospital is “cushy”? What if you don’t work as hard there, have more time to study? Well then. That, my friends, sounds like the place to be.

And so that’s where I went for my most recent rotation.

It took a little bargaining which may or may not have consisted of a batch of cookies for three weeks at a certain hospital.

Guilty as charged.

But these cookies were delicious and I ate a whoooooole bunch of them before I gave the rest of the batch away and so it was essentially a win-win situation in my book!

Oreo Surprise Chocolate Chip Cookies
adapted from Picky Palate

Makes 18-24 cookies depending on size.

Ingredients

  • 11 Oreos, crushed
  • 1 1/2 oz cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 3/4 c all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 c (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 6 tbsp white granulated sugar
  • 6 tbsp packed light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 c chocolate chips

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350F. Prepare baking sheets with parchment paper.

Using a stand or hand mixer, mix crushed Oreos with cream cheese until a dough forms. Set aside. If using a stand mixer, spoon mixture out of bowl and simply use bowl as is for the cookie dough (that’s what I did anyhow).

In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, salt, and baking soda. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat butter and both sugars until light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla, mixing until well combined. Add in the flour mixture and mix until just combined. Then fold in chocolate chips.

To assemble: Take Oreo mixture and portion and roll out little balls about 1 tbsp each. Scoop cookie dough onto prepared sheets. There should be equal balls of the Oreo mixture and equal blobs of cookie dough. Make an indentation in a cookie dough blob, insert a ball of Oreo mixture, and reshape cookie dough to cover the Oreo. Continue for the rest of the cookies.

Bake for 13-15 minutes or until the edges of cookies just begin to brown a bit. Cool on rack until you can’t contain yourself then dig in!

Happy holiday eating if I don’t update between now and then. Be on the lookout for some fantabulous holiday desserts coming soon though!

4 Comments »

  1. Sues Said:

    Omg best idea ever!! Seriously the best holiday surprise possible is to get an oreo in the middle of a chocolate chip cookie 🙂 I love this!

  2. I’m so weird that I don’t particularly like Oreos alone but LOVE them in other things (brownies, cookies, cupcakes, you name it). These look like a killer treat.

  3. how neat are these cookies. They look out of this world!

    xo I am your newest follower

  4. These remind me of Deep Fried Oreos…my FAVORITE snac kever! Yum!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

