Godiva Cream Cheese Swirl Brownies

Nothing says “thank you” like homemade baked goods in my opinion.

Thanks for having me over for dinner!

Thanks for writing me a letter of recommendation!

Thank you for being a friend.

Golden girls, anyone?

I’m sure many of you think along the same lines and if so have I got a recipe for you!

(If not, this is still a great recipe and I’m sure you’ll find an excuse to make this.)

In other news, I am busily preparing for Boy’s birthday in 2 days. It’s going to be an Asian extravaganza of sorts and I’m quite stressed out about it. I think I’ve gone all out and I’m pushing myself to make things that I’ve never made before and require time, time, and more time (which I never seem to have but I have off for the next couple of days to study for my exam.. and I guess I’ll be cooking instead of studying). Since I know he doesn’t read this on a daily basis, I’ll let you in on the meal.

Momofuku Pork Belly Buns

Braised Short Ribs with Watercress and Jasmine Rice

and finally

Lychee Coconut Sorbet with this month’s Daring Bakers challenge and Fried Vermicelli Noodle Tangles (for garnish)

Does that sound like a delicious meal for a wonderful Boy’s birthday?

Wish me luck! These brownies will be with me every step of the way unless I eat all of them at the first step and then I’ll be lost.

Godiva Cream Cheese Swirl Brownies
adapted from Godiva

Original cut in half for an 8×8″ pan of brownies.

Ingredients

  • 4.5 oz dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 8 oz cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 c granulated sugar, divided
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature, divided
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, divided
  • 1/2 c (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 c all-purpose flour
  • pinch of salt

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350F. Line pan with foil and allow edges to hang off as handles of sorts. Coat bottom and sides with nonstick spray (although I’m not sure it’s needed).

Heat chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water, stirring occasionally, until melted. Stir until smooth. Set aside to cool to room temperature.

In a mixing bowl, beat together cream cheese and 3 tbsp sugar until smooth. Add in 1 egg and 1/2 tsp vanilla. Set aside.

In a clean bowl, beat butter and remaining sugar until combined. Add the other egg and mix then add in melted chocolate and remaining 1 tsp vanilla. Mix in flour and salt until just combined on low speed. Set aside 1/2 c of this batter and pour the remainder into the prepared pan.

Spread cream cheese mixture evenly over the chocolate batter. Then spoon the reserved 1/2 of chocolate batter over the cream cheese and pull a knife or skewer through the banner to create the swirl.

Bake for 30-40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out with just a few moist crumbs. Cool before cutting into squares, pulling brownies out of the pan using the foil handles.

What do you like to munch on while you cook/bake?

7 Comments »

  1. Mmm the brownies sound delicious as does the rest of the dishes you listed. What a lucky boy! XD

  2. Cream cheese and brownies…so good!

    That meal plan sounds delicious! The braised short ribs sounds great, and that lychee coconut sorbet sounds exactly like a dessert I had when I was in Vietnam and IT WAS AWESOME!

  3. shawnsplate Said:

    These look incredibly rich and yummy! I’ll have to make them for my husband. Good luck on the birthday feast šŸ™‚

  4. Hmmm… cheesecake and brownies in one! Love it!

  5. You had me as soon as you said Godiva šŸ™‚ They look awesome

  6. Joanne Said:

    SOO excited for you to make the momofuku pork buns! Which recipe are you using? And what seems to be the issue with the dough??

    I MISS YOU TOO. SO MUCH. And uh. we had better see each other soon because I’m having sharlene withdrawals. Seriously.

    And when I do see you, I want some of these godiva brownies. Even more seriously.

  7. Beth Said:

    I agree completely. Saying “thank you” with baked goods is always appreciated. These brownies are awesome.

    Plan B


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

