Apple Crisp + Review

The quest for America.

The quest to land on the moon.

The quest for a map of the human genome.

The quest for the cure for AIDS.

The quest for the perfect apple.

One (and only one) of these things concerned me this weekend.

I went apple picking! (Incidentally, do you enjoy these pictures of yours truly? Do they add to the experience? Or no? I appreciate the feedback.)

It was a gorgeous day in the TriState area so Boy and I took a little trip down to an orchard for some afternoon fun in the sun with some apples.

And I’m sure we’re not the only people who suffer from this problem but we really got into the quest for the perfect looking apple and would pick, and pick, and pick to our heart’s content until the bags got a little too heavy for even Boy to carry. (My heart soared when he grabbed my bag early on in the picking. That meant one hand for pictures and one for apples! Yay!) Then we realized that the two of us had to eat two entire bags of apples. Oh goodness. We picked Granny Smith, Winesap, Fuji, and Empire apples and I couldn’t wait to get started on some fall baking!

I had gone apple picking a few years ago with different friends from school and afterwards held a get-together at my place. I spent the afternoon baking an apple pie and an apple crisp and I think Boy started his crush on me when he bit into that crisp. He couldn’t get enough!

So this year when we finally got around to doing it ourselves, I knew it was the first thing I had to make.

It also nicely coincided with the arrival of my new apple peeler from cookware.com!

Take a look at this little beauty:

Oh baby. I am on a roll with this thing! I was peeling, coring, and slicing apples like no one’s business. It definitely makes the process go a lot faster and it’s actually kinda fun to use! You just crank the apple through the device and it takes care of the rest. All you have to do at the end is make a cut down the middle of the slices to separate them and you’re good to go. Perfect for making pies, crisps, or even just to slice an apple for a snack. I also loved the suction bottom so the device wasn’t slipping and sliding all over the place. You can use it for potatoes etc too. I’m looking forward to trying that out! I highly highly recommend this product. It’s my apples’ new best friend.

 

So, after processing all my apples in under 5 minutes, I got to work on my favorite crisp recipe. Ina Garten is one of my favorite Food Network hosts. Her recipes never cease to impress and they’re often quite simple with perhaps a little twist for an extra oomph. The oomph in this case is the addition of citrus. The result is a wonderful tang to the crisp that’s perfectly offset by the crumbly topping which also has its own oomph in the form of kosher salt though I’m sure sea salt would be extra fabulous!

Apple Crisp
adapted from Ina Garten

Makes one 9″ x 14″ baking dish’s worth of crisp.

Ingredients

For filling:

  • 5 lb baking apples, peeled, cored & sliced (I used Winesaps & Granny Smiths in about equal proportions)
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • zest of one orange
  • zest of one lemon
  • 2 tbsp freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 2 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice

For topping:

  • 1 1/2 c flour
  • 3/4 c granulated sugar
  • 3/4 c light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 c oatmeal
  • heaping 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 lb (2 sticks) unsalted butter, cold and diced

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 and grease a 9″ x 14″ baking dish.

For filling, Toss apples in the remainder of the filling ingredients. Pour into baking dish.

For topping, pour all topping ingredients into a stand mixer and, using the paddle attachment, beat until the butter is pea-sized and the mixture is somewhat uniform. Alternatively, use a pastry cutter or two butter knives running in opposite directions (which is what I did) until the same endpoint is reached. Scatter over apples in the baking dish.

Bake on top of a foil-lined baking sheet in case of spill for 1 hour or until brown and bubbly.

Heaven.

What are you making with your fall apples?

9 Comments »

  1. Mm this looks delicious and I love that peeler! Wish I had one like it myself. I actually just made a small apple and rhubarb crisp. It was tasty, but surprisingly not tart enough for me since there were no other tart ingredients than the rhubarb.

  2. ShawnsPlate Said:

    I’ve never made or even had apple crisp but this looks so good. I especially love that the topping has oatmeal…YUM!

  3. That apple corer looks like so much fun to use!

  4. I have the same peeler! It’s the best. Kids love it šŸ™‚

  5. Joanne Said:

    I love the pictures of YOU truly but that’s because you’re so adorable.

    Hmm so apple crisp is the way to a man’s heart. Got it.

    I love that little peeler and what an awesome recipe! Gotta love Ina. She’s the queen of all things good in this world.

  6. Sues Said:

    This looks awesome!! And yes, I love the photos of you (and your sweater!)… Personal photos make it much easier to relate to bloggers, I think šŸ™‚

  7. julie Said:

    sharlene- i made the apple crisp, inspired by you & ina, and it was delicious!! šŸ™‚ and surprisingly, not difficult. keep the good recipes coming. hope 4th yr is coming along well.

  8. Renn Said:

    I love that peeler! total gadget envy!

    We went picking last weekend and so far we’ve turned our apples into:
    An awesome triple apple bread (used applesauce, cider, and chopped apples), 2 apple brown sugar coffee cakes, and a ginger apple salad (which might have ended up as my fav so far).

    So many apples…..so much more to bake!

  9. […] Stores which features a ton of products including kitchen/dining things such as the apple peeler I reviewed last month, decorating items, and even little holiday gifting ideas for your loved ones (which may […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

