Daring Bakers – September

Oh goodness.

Today has been catch-up day. Although really it’ll end up being catch-up week.

My birthday was yesterday (cake/recipe to come!) and between friends and family and the end of my sleepless and starvation-inclined rotation in NYC I haven’t had a moment to rest. Heck, my drivers license expires on the 30th and I haven’t even done that yet! Let’s hope I don’t get pulled over at the end of the week.

Anyway, it’s the 27th which means it’s Daring Bakers reveal day!

Which means I had to make sugar cookies today and work on my royal icing skills.

It didn’t work out very well.

Under pressure and time constraints, I can answer multiple choice questions in the time it takes some people to read the prompt (though I can’t guarantee that I answered it correctly..), I can do a tubal ligation on my first day meeting a new attending, and I can stitch up a deep cut so you can’t even tell it existed.

But I can’t seem to properly frost a cookie.

Out of an ENTIRE batch of cookies devoted solely to this challenge, I came out with 4 that I felt I could photograph.

FOUR?!

I must work on this skill.

The September 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Mandy of “What the Fruitcake?!” Mandy challenged everyone to make Decorated Sugar Cookies based on recipes from Peggy Porschen and The Joy of Baking.

The challenge was to make anything “September” and since my birthday is in September I made balloons. The original plan was to also draw in string and then take real string and connect them together. But when I tried to draw string the line kept coming out too thick and didn’t look pretty at all. You can also see that I overflooded the cookies creating a distinction between the outer edge and the rest of the frosting.

Thank you, Mandy, for making want to be better at this. Look out for future attempts because I will not be disheartened.

And look out tomorrow for my birthday cake recipe. Yay!

2 Comments »

  1. Happy belated bday! Can’t wait for the cake. These are so pretty :).

  2. Sues Said:

    I am a horrible decorator, but I think these look cute 🙂 I need to practice on my skills!!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

