Brown Butter Rice Krispie Treats

As promised, I’m back with a delicious (and quick) recipe that’s perfect for back-to-school, fall, end-of-summer, and all days that end in “y.”

I’m still on my rotation that’s slowly sucking the life out of me but there’s only a week left so I think I can do it.

Given the time constraints, I haven’t been in the kitchen much (also, living next door to Whole Foods is pretty gosh darn convenient) but I have made these treats.

Simple and amazingly delicious, these took ten minutes to put together.

Deb’s awesome.

Also, thanks everyone for your cake suggestions! I’m still deliberating but I’ve narrowed it down to a select few and will be very excited to show you what I end up with!

And now.. naptime.

Brown Butter Rice Krispie Treats
adapted from smitten kitchen

I got 25 little snacks out of this.

Ingredients
1 stick unsalted butter
10 oz bag marshmallows
heaping 1/4 tsp coarse sea salt
6 c Rice Krispies cereal

Instructions
Grease an 8-inch square cake pan with butter or non-stick spray.

In a large pot, melt butter over medium-low heat and brown until it smells nutty. The brown bits are welcome so don’t be alarmed when they appear. Do NOT take your eyes off the butter because it can burn really quickly. As soon as the butter browns, turn off the heat and add in the marshmallows. The heat of the butter should melt them but if not, you can turn the heat back on for a bit. Once melted, take off the stove and stir in the salt and cereal.

Spread quickly into the pan and let cool! It’s that easy!

Make these!

8 Comments »

  1. Sues Said:

    Yum! I still need to try browning butter! I wish I lived right next to Whole Foods! OK, so I’m only a 15 minute walk, but I’d love to be a tiny bit closer 🙂

  2. Xiaolu Said:

    Having just discovered brown butter myself, I can say with complete confidence that I would devour these happily :).

  3. I am definitely going to make this soon!!! Lovely recipe.

  4. Joanne Said:

    Ugh I know how you feel about having the life sucked out of you. It’s not fun. Especially not to have to go through it every week.

    At least you’re done soon! And at least you have these rice krispies to snack on. A nice respite from the life sucking.

  5. Mary Said:

    These look and sound wonderful and at the very least have been a distraction from your schedule. A little – or a lot of – sugar makes the world a better place. I love your blog and will be back often. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  6. Brad Fallon Said:

    Oh man, nothing can turn a day around like a rice krispies treat!

  7. kathleen Said:

    These sound even more fabulous than the original. Dangerous!!!

  8. peabody Said:

    I love to make these. People always ask why mine taste so much better than theirs…brown the butter. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

