Saucepan Fudge Drops

My beloved grandmother is 93 years old.

The week after she turned 93 (her birthday was on August 17), she went and had a total knee replacement of her left knee.

It was necessary for her quality of life, a life that’s constantly in movement and full of wanting to be useful. She lives at home with my parents and I grew up seeing her face first when I got off the school bus and she always used to make me merienda, what we call our afternoon snack. The snacks were always different. Sometimes they were egg rolls filled with plantains and jackfruit, sweet bread with butter, or ramen noodles. They were always just what I needed and they were always better when she made them. Special in a way that only grandmothers can make something.

It’s been difficult to watch her age but inspiring at the same time.

Who gets surgery at 93 let alone still be walking at 93 let alone still be alive at 93?!

My grandmother.

All mine.

Now that she’s in rehab making tiny victories in her efforts to get around independently again, I come home and visit as often as humanly possible.

The last time I went to see her I brought some of these cookies.

She always likes to try what I make. She doesn’t always love it, sometimes things are too sweet, but she loved these.

Alice Medrich has truly made me love baking with cocoa. Pure chocolate without any sugar added, she adds just the right amount of sweet to create a rich, balanced flavor. Her cocoa brownies are thus far the best brownies I’ve ever made and these drops most definitely stand up to them. I made mine a little smaller, thinking they may be so rich you wouldn’t want more than a few bites of it. How wrong I was when I ate three in a row!

Saucepan Fudge Drops
adapted from Bittersweet by Alice Medrich
Makes 24 or so cookies.
Ingredients
1 c flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
5 tbsp unsalted butter
1/2 c + 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
2/3 c sugar
1/3 c light brown sugar, tightly packed
1/3 c yogurt, I used sour cream
1 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350F, placing one rack in the upper third and one rack on the lower third of the oven. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a small bowl, and set aside.

Melt butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat sizzling. Remove from heat and whisk in cocoa until smooth. Add both sugars and stir until blended. It’ll be stiff and sandy but don’t fret! Stir in yogurt and vanilla. Add dry ingredients, mixing until just combined.

Scoop rounded tablespoons of dough onto sheets, about 1 1/2 inches apart.  Bake 10-12 minutes, until cookies look dry on top and are cracked. For even baking, rotate sheets top to bottom and front to back halfway through. Cool before serving.

Mmm good.

4 Comments »

  1. Joanne Said:

    This post totally made me cry. My grandmother will be 92 on Monday. She lives across the street from my parents (with my grandfather) and two weeks ago when I went home, she remembered for a fleeting second who i was. Which is crazy because she hasn’t remembered who I was in about a year, if not more. I beamed when she said without even thinking, Come sit down next to grandma. usually when I ask her who I am, she thinks I’m her niece or her sister or her daughter or no one at all. Sigh. I hate the thought of getting old.

    These cookies look glorious and I’m so glad your grandma got to enjoy them!

    I totally miss you. Like a lot. Like way too much. Do you have any free weekends at all? Even if we just do dinner or lunch or something quick?

  2. Xiaolu Said:

    What a lovely post about your grandma. She sounds amazing and I hope she recovers soon! One of mine just passed away in her mid-70s but she also loved to cook for me and will forever live in my memories. These cookies look delicious, too, by the way :).

  3. the title got me drooling!!

  4. Sues Said:

    Happy birthday to your grandma!! These cookies could make anyone feel better 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

