Compost Cookies

Back in July when I spent my first full month in NYC, I knew I had to visit Momofuku Milk Bar.

If you’ve been around the foodie blogging community long enough, I’m sure you’ve noticed the hype around this place.

It’s well-deserved.

So I visited this Milk Bar.

Why is it called a Milk Bar, you ask? Well, if you don’t know, they sell milk there! Not just any kind of milk. Cereal Milk.

Yes. They make the milk of everyone’s childhood (or present day) favorite treat at the end of a delicious bowl of cereal. They bottle it up and they sell it! Oh and they make ice cream out of it which is crazy good.

Anyway, what they ALSO have at this glorious institution of all things delicious is these Compost Cookies.

A cookie filled with snack food! I’m talking potato chips, pretzels, rice cereal, and whatever else you may want to throw into them. Heaven!

(They also have Crack Pie which really does turn you into an addict of sorts.)

I had a cookie and I knew I needed more.

So I made them!

They were just as delicious as I remember. Maybe not exactly how they were at the Milk Bar but pretty gosh darn close and definitely close enough that I could tide myself over until the next Milk Bar visit. The saltiness of the snack food paired with the buttery cookie dough and sweet chocolate is truly a party in my mouth. I set these out for a bunch of teenagers over the weekend and they were all gone in mere minutes. Deliciousness.

Milk Bar’s Compost Cookies
adapted from Live with Regis and Kelly

Makes 15 6 oz cookies. Or 30 3 oz cookies which is what I did.

Word of warning: These cookies spread a LOT so adhere to the recommendation to leave several inches of space all around regardless of how big or small you make them! Also, while I’m sure you can do this by hand, I strongly recommend a stand or hand mixer because it’s a LOT of mixing.

Ingredients
1 c (2 sticks) butter
1 c sugar
3/4 c light brown sugar
1 tbsp corn syrup
1 tsp vanilla
2 large eggs
1 3/4 c all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp kosher salt
3 c total of baking ingredients/snack food (I used chocolate chips, puffed rice cereal, pretzels, potato chips, and oreos)

Instructions
Cream butter, sugars, and corn syrup on medium high for 2-3 minutes until fluffy and pale yellow. Scrape down the bowl and then add the eggs and vanilla. Mix at medium-high for 10 minutes. Yes, 10 minutes!! The mixture will be a pale white and will have fluffed up to about double in size. Amazing!!

Add the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and mix on a lower speed for a little under a minute until all incorporated. Don’t overmix!! Scrape down the sides of the mixing bowl and add in your baking ingredients/snack food, mixing just until incorporated which should be under a minute.

Portion the cookie dough onto a parchment-lined pan, wrap tightly with plastic wrap, and stick in the refrigerator for anywhere from 1 hour to 1 week.

When ready, heat the oven to 400F. Move the cookie dough onto a room temperature, parchment-lined sheetpan leaving four four four (please don’t forget) inches all around each cookie. Stick the pan in the oven once preheated, making sure the cookies are still cold otherwise they will spread like wildfire and you’ll have a mess on your hands. Bake for 9-11 minutes until the cookies begin to brown on the edges and towards the center. Take them out before they are uniformly brown and cool on the pan. They will become uniformly brown as they cool. EAT!

Genius.

– Sharlene

5 Comments »

  1. Velva Said:

    I have Momofuku’s on my list for my next NYC journey. God, I love that city. I have his restaurant cookbook and it is just so amazingly creative.The cereal milk is over the top!

    This was a great post.

  2. Xiaolu Said:

    These look and sound so addictive! Definitely on my must-try list.

  3. Joanne Said:

    I’m not normally a cookie person but these were seriously some of the best things I’ve ever tasted. Seriously.

    I need the Momofuku cookbook. Like, yesterday. i’m so glad you recreated these!

  4. Sues Said:

    Oooh I’ve heard about these and now I think I really must make them!! And pretty much everything else from Momofuku. Yes? Yes!

  5. Mandy Said:

    Hey! Have you tried the blueberry and cream cookie. Its so good too! and if you haven’t already you might want to go to Levine Bakery on the Upper West Side


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

