Blueberry Crumb Muffins

So.. I thought I’d have time to blog this month. I knew it’d be a little difficult given the notoriety of long hours on this particular rotation but I was not exactly prepared for THIS. Suffice it to say, I get four to five hours of sleep a night and it’s most definitely not by choice. I stand pretty much all day (which amounts to somewhere between 12-14 hours). And yesterday was the first day I’ve eaten lunch all week. I didn’t have to go in yesterday.

Yeah.

When I realize my schedule is so gosh darn sleepless, there’s only one thing I can think to make in the kitchen.

Muffins.

(Yes yes, I was going to give you a cupcake recipe today but I haven’t had the chance to make a proper batch and really I need need muffins right now.)

Ali most definitely knows what she’s doing with these muffins. The crunchy topping and the soft, moist blueberry packed muffin seriously make the greatest combination. Perfection in a blueberry muffin. I gave a couple to my brother whose roommate is apparently a blueberry muffin fiend. Rave reviews from this self-proclaimed blueberry muffin afficionado. So take it from us, these are fabulous.

Blueberry Crumb Muffins
adapted from vanilla & lace

Makes 12 muffins.

Ingredients:
1 1/2 c all-purpose flour
3/4 c sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
1/3 c vegetable oil
1 egg
1/3 c milk
1 c fresh blueberries
for topping:
1/2 c sugar
1/3 c all-purpose flour
1/4 c butter, cubed
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 400F. Prepare muffin tin with either cups or spray.

Combine flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder. Place vegetable oil into a 1 cup measuring cup, add egg, followed by enough milk to fill the cup. Mix wet and dry ingredients. Fold in blueberries. Fill muffin cups 2/3 full.

For the topping, mix all the ingredients together with a fork until crumbly. Sprinkle over muffins.

Bake for 20-25 minutes.

Oh yes.. this is good stuff.

– Sharlene

7 Comments »

  1. Mmm my favorite classic muffin! Your rotation sounds intense. Good luck and thanks for finding time to share this delicious muffin with us!

  2. Delicious looking muffins!

  3. indie.tea Said:

    Those sound and look delicious….

  4. Love muffins with that nice bit of a crunch on the top, not sure why but always my favorites.
    Thanks for your recipe.
    Try and get some proper sleep!

  5. Joanne Said:

    Ugh babe I’m SO sorry about that rotation! It’s making me dread third and fourth year! But at least those are seriously far off for me.

    My life kind of sucks right now too. Neuroanatomy. Not fun.

    These muffins. Totally amazing. you had me at sugary crust. Seriously.

  6. Sues Said:

    Oh man, I can’t believe you sleep for 4-5 hours a night and are on your feet all day. And are still making muffins and blogging about them!! Make me feel like I’m not doing quite enough… or am complaining too much about it 🙂 You’re an inspiration!

    Sues

  7. weight Said:

    yeah my dad will like this


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

