Tiramisu Cupcakes – Repost

This was originally posted February 11th. These cupcakes have been made multiple times since then and they are always always a winner. Definitely consider them for your next event or just because!!

Sometime last year when I started getting on the cupcake bandwagon, Boy asked me for Tiramisu Cupcakes. (Did he know these existed? Was he trying to send me on an impossible adventure so I’d stop bugging him for ideas? Does he just like pronouncing the word tier-uh-MEE-su? Who knows.) Months later, I came across this recipe and HAD to make them. He gobbled them up, as did friends in Philadelphia we visited later that day.

They’re delicious.

Tiramisu Cupcakes

Recipe adapted from i♥cuppycakes
[who adapted it from  Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan]

Makes 20.

Ingredients

2 cups cake flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
10 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 large egg yolk
1-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup buttermilk [I used 2% milk I had in the fridge, just under 3/4 cup and then topped it off with white vinegar.]

Espresso extract:
2 tbsp instant espresso powder
2 tbsp boiling water

Espresso syrup:
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup sugar
1 tbsp Kahlua

Frosting:
8 oz mascarpone [look for this in the specialty cheese area, usually by the mozzarella]
1/2 cup powdered sugar, sifted
1-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp Kahlua
1/2 cup cold cream [original called for 1 cup but i♥cuppycakes indicated that she liked the frosting better before the whipped cream so I halved it to increase the volume of the frosting but keep the mascarpone flava]

Decor
finely chopped chocolate
cocoa powder

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350F.

Cake:

Sift cake flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

With a hand/stand mixer, beat butter until creamy. Add sugar and mix to combine. Add eggs one at a time, beating for about 1 minute after each addition. Add vanilla.

Gradually add flour mixture in 3 additions, alternating with buttermilk in 2 additions, ending with the flour mixture. Mix until flour is just incorporated into batter.

Fill cupcake liners about 1/2-2/3 full and bake ~17-20 minutes. Remove from pan and cool on a wire rack.

While the cupcakes are baking, assemble the rest of the fun stuff!

Espresso extract:
Stir espresso powder and boiling water together until blended.

Espresso syrup:
In a small saucepan, combine water and sugar together and bring just to a boil. Pour syrup into small bowl and stir in 1 tbsp of espresso extract and add Kahlua.

Frosting:
Combine the mascarpone, sugar, vanilla and Kahlua in a large bowl and whisk until smooth. Whip the heavy cream until it hold stiff peaks in a separate bowl. Using a spatula, stir in about 1/4 of whipped cream into mascarpone mixture. Fold in the rest of the whipped cream with a soft touch. Add espresso syrup to frosting to taste. (If frosting is too soft to pipe, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 15 minutes or until frosting is good to go.)

Final product:
Poke holes in cupcakes with a toothpick. Spoon about 1-2 tsp of espresso syrup over each cupcake. (Do this slowly to let it soak in before adding more lest you get syrup all over the place.) Frost and top with cocoa powder and chopped chocolate.

Yummy!!

– Sharlene

4 Comments »

  1. Chef Dennis Said:

    I absolutely love Tiramisu…..I like saying it too!! those cupcakes sound incredible!! I am going to have to make these for my girls!

  2. Velva Said:

    Sharlene, I can see why you would want to re-post these cupcakes. Tiramisu cupcakes sounds like a treat I would enjoy. I certainly love the traditional tiramisu dessert.

  3. Joanne Said:

    I love tiramisu in general, but I thought that having them in cupcake form was some kind of myth or hopeful delusion on my part. Thank you for proving me wrong. They look fantastic!

  4. Ah I always love to see my favorite dessert in all its forms. I made a cheaper variation using cream cheese frosting a while ago (blasphemy? hehe turned out very tasty though) so I bet this is even more fantastic.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

