Strawberry Shortcake Cookies


REMINDER: VOTING FOR CUPCAKE HERO ON THE SIDEBAR ENDS TOMORROW AT MIDNIGHT!!

VOTE FOR YOUR FAVORITE CUPCAKE NOW!!

Roundup for Cupcake Hero :: Coconut can be found here.

[onto the entry]


Everyone has go-to recipes, right? Ones you can make in a pinch and will always always be successful. Ones that require minimal ingredients. Ones that take but a moment to whip up.

This is one of those recipes.

Last weekend I went home to my parents’ for some supposed relaxation.

Do you want to know what happened?

They had friends over.

MY PARENTS HAD FRIENDS OVER!

Now, normally that’s not a bad thing. Hey, parents are allowed to have friends too. (Teachers are the same way although I still cannot get it through my head that my first grade teacher doesn’t in fact sleep at my elementary school.)

Except I wasn’t prepared for this. Had I known, I would have had a recipe in mind, stopped at the grocery store on the way, etc etc. Instead, I sat around all day and did my planned relaxing until late in the afternoon I heard, “Anak (the Filipino word for “my child”), can you please bake something for dessert?”

But Moooooooommmmmmmmmmmmm!!

I didn’t really feel like baking for some reason and I was resistant.

But she was my Mom.

Curses.

And then I remembered these cookies.

My go-to cookies. And all of a sudden it didn’t seem so bad that I had to bake on the fly. I actually got excited.

I first read about them last summer when I was just starting to read blogs. We Are Not Martha was one of the first I ever read (Hi Sues & Chels!) and I found this recipe, made it, adored it, and made it again and again until there were no more strawberries to be found in all of New Jersey. I promise you, this is a fabulous recipe, super easy to make, and loved by all. In fact, I apologize for the lack of pictures but I had to snatch the last two cookies (I made a double batch and even then they were gone in minutes. MINUTES.) and snap these super quickly. Especially since I may or may not have snatched them from a child. Don’t worry. They still tasted great, I’m sure.

Strawberry Shortcake Cookies
adapted from We Are Not Martha, originally from Martha

Makes 24 cookies.

Ingredients
12 oz strawberries, hulled and chopped
1 tsp lemon juice
1/2 c + 1 tbsp sugar
2 c flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
6 tbsp COLD butter, unsalted and cut into small pieces
2/3 c heavy cream
sanding (or granulated) sugar, optional

Instructions
Preheat oven to 375F. Prepare baking sheets with parchment paper.

Combine strawberries, lemon juice, and 2 tbsp sugar in a bowl and set aside. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, and remaining sugar. Cut the butter into this dry mixture (using two knives or a pastry cutter) until crumbly. Add heavy cream and mix. It will be sticky. Add strawberries.

Drop about 1 tbsp of dough per cookie and space 2 inches apart. Bake for 18-20 minutes.

Go use up those strawberries!

– Sharlene

5 Comments »

  1. Absolutely gorgeous! Love it!

  2. Joanne Said:

    I love this post! I haven’t yet reached the point of snatching cookies from a child…but sometimes a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do…

    I’ve been dying to make these actually…I’m glad to know they got the Sharlene seal of approval.

  3. Sues Said:

    Hi! 🙂 So glad you like these!! I seriously need to make them again too because I remember them being delightful! I might even snatch them from a child, too 🙂

  4. These cookies just scream summer. What an awesome idea!

  5. sharon Said:

    these are in the oven right now, and my house smells magnificent!!! thank you for this!!!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

