White Chocolate Dipped Strawberries

REMINDER: CUPCAKE HERO JULY [COCONUT] ENTRIES DUE JULY 17TH!! Email me at smalltownoven[at]gmail[dot]com!

JULY 17TH!!!!!!

ENTER NOW!!!!!!

The weather has been absolutely disgusting this week.

Hot.

Humid.

Muggy.

Gross.

For the better half of the week, it was just terrible. You’d march out the door, walk five steps, and immediately want to go back inside where it’s air-conditioned and your anti-perspirant isn’t 500% necessary.

Today, however, it was beautiful out.

The sun shone, the air was clear, and life was good.

I delivered 4 babies today. That may have helped. Two of those were twins. That may have helped too.

I sutured, I stapled, I came, I saw, I conquered.

Today was a bright spot in a dreary week (well, a dreary week that included meeting Alec Baldwin).

The only thing that kept me going this week in the grossness that was NYC?

These strawberries.

I kid you not.

I’d run home after work and go straight for the refrigerator. Right to these here strawberries.

My only regret is that I only made a pint.

Next time, there will be more.

Heaven.


White Chocolate Dipped Strawberries
adapted from epicurious

Ingredients
2 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp orange zest
1/2 tsp lemon zest
6 oz white chocolate, chopped
1 pint ripe strawberries

Instructions
Line a baking sheet with wax paper. Rub the sugar and zest together with fingertips until moist and fragrant. Set aside. Melt white chocolate either over a saucepan of barely simmering water or in the microwave. If melting in the microwave, make sure to heat in small increments to prevent freezing up of the chocolate.

Dip strawberries into chocolate to coat 2/3 of the berry. Shake excess into bowl. Sprinkle citrus sugar on top of the chocolate. Place on prepared sheet. Once all the berries are dipped, chill in the refrigerator until chocolate is set, about 30 minutes.

Hope you’re surviving the heat/cold or whatever you have where you are 🙂

– Sharlene

3 Comments »

  1. stephanie Said:

    mm the zest on these takes them to a whole new level. sounds outrageous!

  2. Joanne Said:

    I have to admit, I’ve been waiting for this recipe. I love the lemon zest idea! Definitely counteracts some of that sugary sweetness of the white chocolate.

    FOUR BABIES! You are practically a stork! That must be so incredibly gratifying.

  3. Velva Said:

    What a week! Awesome strawberries dipped in white chocolate and lemon zest-very nice. This would be the first item I would want to greet when I entered the door.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

