Blueberry Pancakes

REMINDER: CUPCAKE HERO JULY [COCONUT] ENTRIES DUE JULY 17TH!! Email me at smalltownoven[at]gmail[dot]com!

onto the entry..

I have to tell you a secret.

I didn’t always like breakfast.

Oh come on! Sit down! Don’t leave! I LOVE breakfast now!

HONEST!

Okay so let me explain. In my house growing up breakfast was never a big deal. Sure we had fried eggs on the weekends sometimes with some fried rice (oh how I adore my dad’s fried rice!) and maybe if we were lucky my mom found some sausages in the freezer. On rare occasion we ate pancakes or french toast but it would always be a mix or something frozen.

They don’t do breakfast in the Philippines like they do breakfast here. How was I supposed to know?

In high school, when I started hanging out with people at IHOP, I finally understood.

WHAT THE HECK WAS I THINKING ALL MY LIFE?!

These days all I seem to order at the diner (I’m from Jersey. We go to diners. Don’t judge me.) is breakfast. The french toast calls my name. The waffles with ice cream make my tummy growl. And the pancakes? Don’t even get me started on the pancakes.

When I make breakfast at home it’s usually simple. Oatmeal or yogurt with granola are my usuals. They don’t involve a pan that needs washing and can be made quickly. I’m a mover! I gotta move! No time to sit around mixing batter!

But the second I found time on my hands and blueberries on my counter, I knew I had to do something about it.

Hence the first pancakes I’ve made in a long long time.

And ohhhhhh were they winners!! They actually only took a few minutes to whip up, literally the time it took to preheat my pan. They were light and airy and everything a pancake should be. And for me, pancakes are all about the butter on top. Butter IN the pancake? Even better. I highly recommend these. Thanks, smitten kitchen!

Blueberry Pancakes
adapted from smitten kitchen; originally from Martha Stewart’s Original Classics Cookbook

This is a half recipe and I ate it for breakfast for 3 days. Not sure how many that made.

Ingredients
2 c all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp kosher salt, or slightly less table salt
1 1/2 tbsp sugar
1 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted, plus more for the griddle/pan
1/2 c blueberries, fresh or frozen/thawed

Instructions

Prepare griddle or, if you don’t have one like me, heat a frying pan with 1/2 tbsp of butter so that it browns a bit (I find butter makes pancakes brown better than anything else).

In a bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar. Add the eggs, buttermilk, and melted butter, and whisk to combine. The batter should have small to medium lumps.

If using a griddle, Deb says to test it by sprinkling a few drops of water on it. If the water bounces and spatters, the griddle is hot enough and 1/2 tsp of butter can be brushed on with a pastry brush. Wipe off the excess with a folded paper towel. Personally, I just assume I’m going to throw out my first batch anyway and I go for it.

Ladle about 1/2 cup for a 6-inch pancake into the pan, pouring the batter in pools 2 inches apart. Arrange a handful of blueberries over the cooking pancake, pressing them in slightly. When the pancakes have bubbles on top and are slightly dry around the edges, about 2 1/2 minutes, flip them over. If any batter oozes or blueberries roll out, push them back under with your spatula. Cook until golden on bottom, about 1 minute.

Repeat with the remaining batter. You can keep the finished pancakes on a heat-proof plate in the oven at 175°F. Serve warm.

I topped mine with leftover mint and white chocolate whipped cream from my winning cupcakes. Oh yum.

Loves it!

– Sharlene

4 Comments »

  1. Mmm you can’t beat classic blueberry pancakes, and with Deb and your recommendation I’d never doubt these are delicious. I’m glad I stopped by too cause I really need to start thinking about what to make for cupcake hero!

  2. Sues Said:

    I used to not like breakfast too! I think it was more of an “I can’t eat in the morning” thing. My dad cooked Sunday brunch every week and I would just sit at the table wishing I could go back to bed.

    Now, I LOVE breakfast and these pancakes look fabulous! And topped with mint and white chocolate whipped cream?? WOW! To die for…

  3. Joanne Said:

    I was hoping that these meant that you had bought flour and sugar and eggs and butter for your friend’s apartment…but then I realized that since you probably didn’t transport that whipped cream from New Jersey, you probably made this before the move lol.

    They looks fantastic though! We always had breakfast for dinner in my house. One of my favorite meals…

  4. Alicia Said:

    hahaha that’s so funny about not having breakfast before like that! I just got a whole bunch of blueberries that I froze I may need to dig them up for this on Sunday! Thanks for sharing =)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

