Mint Blueberry Cupcakes with White Chocolate Whipped Cream

Sometime in the midst of all my stress and end-of-the-year nervous breakdowns I gave thought to doing away with this blog altogether. It’s still a baby, a little blip on the internet map, and could have very easily fallen away without much of a fuss.

When I suggested this to Boy, he was not in agreement.

I started this with the sole intention of pushing myself to be a better baker, to create recipes instead of always following someone else’s lead, and to try new things.

So, with that in mind, I joined Daring Bakers last month and completed my first challenge earlier this month (the reveal is on the 27th). This past weekend, I decided to try something else too.

I’m going for Cupcake Hero.

Whoa.

I decided this on Saturday. On Sunday I woke up with a few ideas of how to use blueberries in a cupcake and took my sweet time getting to the grocery store etc. Then, last night around 8 pm I realized that the deadline for Cupcake Hero is midnight tonight.

WHOA!

I scrambled. But I’m actually quite happy with the result! Maybe I work well under pressure? I even had the chance to have Boy and two other friends try a few! The overwhelming opinion was that they taste “fresh” and that’s exactly what I was going for. Not too sweet, not too heavy, and perfectly summery.

Let’s hope I win but if not this is definitely a recipe I’ll keep in my arsenal when I’m looking for something different to bring to a party. They’re delicious.

Mint Blueberry Cupcakes with White Chocolate Whipped Cream
a smalltownoven original

Makes 12.

Ingredients
For cake:
2 c all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 c sugar
1/2 c (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
2 eggs, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp mint extract
3/4 c milk
1 1/4- 1 1/2 c blueberries (I used fresh)

For topping:
1 c heavy cream
10-15 mint leaves
3 oz white chocolate, chopped

For garnish:
fresh blueberries

Instructions
Do ahead: Heat heavy cream and mint leaves in a saucepan until boiling. Take off heat, cover, and steep for 1 hour. Strain mint leaves out of cream and refrigerate until chilled for several hours or overnight (freezer if you’re in a rush).

Preheat oven to 350F. Line 12-cake muffin/cupcake pan with appropriate liners.

Toss blueberries with 1 tbsp flour. In a large bowl, sift together rest of flour, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, cream sugar and butter together until well blended using a hand or stand mixer. Add eggs one at a time and mix well. Add extracts and mix completely. Add the flour mixture in 3 additions alternating with the milk in 2 additions, mixing well in between each addition. Fold in blueberries.

Bake for 20-24 minutes. Cool in pan for 10 minutes before moving to cooling racks.

For topping, melt white chocolate with 2 tbsp of mint-infused heavy cream in a large bowl over a pot of simmering water. Be careful not to allow the white chocolate to burn! Once melted, take off heat and allow to cool for 10 minutes. In a separate large bowl, whip the rest of the heavy cream (~3/4 c) until the appropriate consistency. Fold in the cooled white chocolate.

To assemble, place a dollop of topping on each cupcake and garnish with fresh blueberries.

How cute!

– Sharlene

7 Comments »

  1. Joanne Said:

    I would be IRATE if you disappeared from the blogosphere. Seriously. How could we have “met” otherwise?

    I can’t wait to see the Daring Bakers reveal…those things are always insane.

    And I can’t believe we posted such similarly flavored recipes! Great minds think alike. These look fantastic…good luck with Cupcake Hero!

  2. astheroshe Said:

    I just found your blog thru Cupcake Hero.. I too blog. My blog is small with very few readers. I am hoping one day to have many. I am a baker, but NOT a writer, or a photographer! All three are needed for the perfect blog. It is hard “to get the word out”” You can use blog lines, facebook etc..

    However, it seems you started this blog for yourself, and that is why i started mine..so don’t give up. It takes time. Post on other peoples blogs, and they will find you. πŸ™‚

    Ps. I am also a daring baker ..and i love it. I will also host in Jan 2011( cough cough)

  3. Boy Said:

    don’t give up! these cupcakes were AMAZING

    i still don’t know why you don’t have your own bakery-CHA CHING!

  4. Jessica Said:

    These look fabulous! Beautiful!

  5. Sues Said:

    I love the blueberry and mint combination! And, of course, I love cupcakes too!! These are so pretty and the perfect use for this summer’s blueberry surplus πŸ™‚ Not that I’m complaining!

  6. Dorothy Said:

    Hi Sharlene!
    Congrats–I’ve selected your cupcake to enter into the Cupcake Hero Finals! I’ll be baking them up this weekend, with results posting on Monday. Because the deadline was so close to the end of the month and the theme for next month’s Cupcake Hero ‘should’ be posted on the first of the month, you’ll need to get your thinking cap on! In the event that you win the bake-off, you’ll need to come up with a theme ingredient and post…pronto. So, just a heads-up πŸ™‚

  7. […] topped mine with leftover mint and white chocolate whipped cream from my winning cupcakes. Oh […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

