Cookies and Cream Brownies

I had a bad day yesterday.

In short, a patient yelled at me and nearly made me cry, I tripped in front of all the residents and some attending physicians at noon/lunch conference, I got out extra late because I had to wait for clinic hours to finish before meeting my preceptor, and managed to have a terrible asthma attack which required a visit to the ER at a later hour than I could have cared for.

Yeah. It was bad.

After the first thee things, I wanted (needed? same thing?) to come home and cry bake brownies. Not just any brownies either. I wanted cookies and cream brownies. Now, is that odd to crave something you’ve never ever had before? That you’ve maybe heard of once in your life? Well, that’s what happened to me yesterday. Cookies and cream brownies needed to be made. They needed to have Oreos in them. And they needed to be in my belly sooner rather than later.

This was not one of those times when I felt like baking. It was one of those times when a huge plate of nachos followed by a tub of Ben & Jerry’s shared around a table with my best girlfriends would have been perfect. But that wasn’t possible. So cookies and cream brownies would have to do and, in all honesty, the yumminess I was imagining in my head came pretty gosh darn close to that scenario I just described.

So after work I rushed to the store to buy ingredients sometime in the middle of my hour-long commute home on Route 1, the biggest life-sucker-outter I know. I was out in 10 minutes (I’m a really quick shopper). And I went home thinking that my day HAD to get better if these were in my future.

Time’s always wasting so I whipped the brownies together in no time flat especially since I used brownie mix. I’ve never tried a doctored up brownie recipe.

(CAN I JUST TELL YOU?! GENIUS!!!!!!)

Anyway, after brownie-making, brownie-eating, knee-buckling, and milk chugging I considered my day a win. It wasn’t even that late yet. Still time to study! Yip yip!

But then.. asthma attack.

:: cue sappy music here ::

So Boy had to drive me to the emergency room late at night after an hour of wheezing and gripping onto the couch cushion with my eyes closed telling Boy to just shoot me already in between coarse breaths. Oh, also do you sometimes find that you can’t really take advice from the people you love the most? Boy was already telling me to go to the ER. But he also tells me to make immediate appointments to see a doctor if I’m nauseated two mornings in a row without any rhyme or reason. (Would YOU see a doctor? I figured it was anxiety or something and just pfft’ed it off. Yes, I know that’s not a word.) So Boy was telling me to go to the ER but I didn’t want to. Then a third party told me to go to the ER and I proceeded to grab my bag and get in Boy’s car. To his credit, he didn’t say “I told you so” even once. But I feel bad anyhow that I didn’t heed his advice to begin with, chalking it up to overly concerned loved one instead of quite appropriate medical advice from a soon-to-be-doctor-of-medicine. Oops.

[In case you’re concerned, I got some meds, sat around for awhile, talked to a few medicine residents on call who I happened to know and love, and got sent home late late late in the morning. Boy’s the bestest Boy ever.]

Anyway, now that I’ve displayed the haphazard inner-workings of my brain filled with random comments and probably some incoherent statements, these brownies still made my day a good one.

So make them if you’re having a crappy day. Or a good day. They’re super easy and super delicious.

And for the love of Boy, go to the emergency room if you can’t breathe. It’s some seriously good medical advice.

Cookies and Cream Brownies
adapted from Good Morning America

Makes 16.

Ingredients

For brownie cake:
1 pkg brownie mix [I used Betty Crocker Dark Chocolate]
8 tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted [Yes, this much butter is necessary for proper day-bettering.]
2 large eggs
4 Oreos, coarsely chopped (~ 1/2 c)

For cookies & cream frosting:
4 oz cream cheese, room temperature
2 tbsp (1/4 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 c confectioner’s sugar, sifted
8 Oreos, coarsely chopped (~1 c)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray pan [I used an 8×8]Ā  if desired but I usually just stick some aluminum foil in for easy clean-up and cutting.

In a large bowl, mix brownie mix, butter, and eggs with a wooden spoon until moistened. Transfer batter to pan, press Oreos onto top, and place in oven. Bake until set but always aim for fudgy. My batch baked for 40 minutes. Take ’em out and allow to cool for 20 minutes prior to frosting.

For the frosting, using a stand or hand mixer, beat the cream cheese and butter in a large bowl until well combined. Add confectioner’s sugar and vanilla until just combined. Fold in Oreos. After the brownies have cooled for 20 minutes (or less if 20 is simply too long), spread frosting. Cut and eat (or allow to cool some more until frosting sets but.. that’s nearly impossible).

Go make your day a little bit better now. I command you.

– Sharlene

3 Comments »

  1. Joanne Said:

    Uh, yeah. So after a day like that. You definitely needed brownies! And maybe a cocktail. But definitely brownies. They look awesome!

    Have you ever heard the Osler quote? The doctor who treats herself has a stupid person for a patient.

    I think somehow we’re incapable of seeing our own health objectively. It’s why a lot of really obese people will deny up and down that they’re obese but call someone who’s the same size as they are obese. I tend to do the opposite, but whatever šŸ˜›

    Hope today was better!

  2. Sues Said:

    Yum, these would make any day better!! They look awesome. I have trouble breathing allll the time too and my bf is always telling me I need to go to the doctor. And I never do because I feel that it’s normal…. when it’s probably not! Glad you’re OK šŸ™‚

  3. Toddb1 Said:

    Enjoyed your post
    Thanks


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

