Coconut Lime Sugar Cookies

I love coconut.

Always have. Always will.

Perhaps it’s the tropical island heritage? My parents often tell me about how they used to climb the coconut trees back in the Philippines, shimmying up the long trunks using various methods to find their way to the top. This is my brother in Aruba on a family trip last year:

He’s a bit of a beast. By the way, Aruba is beautiful and I think everyone should go. I’d love it if you’d take me with you but I’d be happy either way. I know, I know. I’m so self-less.

Anyway, I remember a time somewhere around fifth grade when coconut was NOT cool. Did you all experience something similar? The Almond Joys and Mounds were the absolute last candy bars to go whenever we had candy passed around. I’d often get “stuck” with them because my last name is towards the end of the alphabet so the pickin’s were slim but I’d always be secretly happy. Also, because no one wanted them I could get away with taking two or three at a time. I don’t remember having many friends in fifth grade.

Luckily, however, coconuts have come back in style and are now and acceptable and welcome addition to anything! That’s probably more because of my age than a change in the times but for whatever reason I’m super happy I can now bake with coconut and everyone rejoices. Hence the two coconutty recipes this week! I added a tiny tiny bit of chocolate to pay homage to the above candy bars. I think it added to the cookie quite nicely. But I also made a few cookies without the chocolate and they were pretty yummy as well so you can go either way! Don’t add too much chocolate though or it’ll overwhelm the other flavors.

These cookies are wonderfully chewy and flavored with the perfect amount of lime. Great for spring/summer parties or what have you. I served them as a light snack while celebrating a friend’s birthday (I didn’t make the cake this time) before going out for drinks at a bar.

Coconut Lime Sugar Cookies
adapted from My Baking Addiction, originally from Rock Recipes

Makes ~ 40 cookies.

Ingredients
2 3/4 c all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 c (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
1 1/2 c granulated sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Zest of one large lime
3 tbsp lime juice
½ c unsweetened toasted coconut [spread coconut in a thin layer on a baking sheet and toast in 350F oven fro 8-10 minutes, stirring occasionally]
2 oz chopped bittersweet chocolate, optional

1/2 c sugar for rolling cookies

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

Whisk flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt together. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, beat together the butter and sugar until smooth and very fluffy. Add egg, vanilla extract, lime juice and lime zest. Gradually blend in the dry ingredients.

With a wooden spoon, stir in toasted coconut and chopped chocolate if using.

With your hands [the fun part!] roll rounded teaspoonfuls of dough into balls, and then roll in sugar. Place on lined cookie sheets about 1 1/2 inches apart. Bake 8 to 10 minutes until lightly browned. Allow to cool on the cookie sheet for 2 minutes before moving to wire racks.

6 Comments »

  1. Velva Said:

    Your coconut and lime cookies look fabulous. No doubt that these would be melt in my mouth delicious.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Joanne Said:

    I used to hate the texture of coconut but lately I adore it! I was such a silly child. I wish I had tropical island heritage. And a batch of these cookies.

  3. Sues Said:

    I love coconut too! Especially in combination of lime 🙂 These look fabulous!!

  4. […] to do Coconut Lime Sugar Cookies […]

  5. Heather Said:

    I used to hate the texture of coconut but lately I adore it! I wish I had tropical island heritage. And a batch of these cookies.I love coconut too! Especially in combination of lime.

  6. Rock Said:

    I just love these Cookies.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

