Peanut Butter Toffee Cookies

A couple weeks ago I flew out to California for a cousin’s wedding (Hi Cousins!! I miss you!) and thought it would be nice to bring some baked goodies. I don’t see my cousins very often since we’re spread out all over the U.S. of A. and figured I could at least show off a bit (plus I had a hankering to bake and I jump at any chance to give away said baking after I pack away a few for me. I’m a one-for-you, one-, or two depending on the fat content, for-me kinda gal.). I already had all the ingredients on hand for these cookies (substituting toffee chips for actual bars) and so I whipped up a quick batch. They were so yummy and I was excited to hand them out to everyone.

Then.. FAIL.

I picked up my brother from our parents’ house to head to the airport. My uncle was over to hang out with my grandmother at the time and I brought up the cookies. Said uncle said he didn’t think airlines allowed you to bring your own food onto the plane. I replied that I thought it was just drinks like water bottles etc but the idea was already planted. On the way to the airport my brother, who loves toffee like a fat kid love cake except he’s skinny and doesn’t really like cake, proceeded to eat all of the cookies.

All.

ALL?!

Yes, all. And he was still skinny!

Bollocks.

So, cousins had no cookies to feast on. But my brother thoroughly enjoyed.

By the way? You can bring your own food.

Peanut Butter Toffee Cookies
adapted from Martha

Ingredients
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt [omitted because I used salted butter]
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
1 large egg
2 chocolate-covered toffee candy bars (1.4 ounces each), chopped [I used approximately 3-4 oz of toffee bits]

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350F.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside. In a large bowl and armed with a hand or stand mixer, beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add peanut butter and egg; beat until smooth. Then with the mixer on low, gradually add flour mixture. Stir in toffee.


Roll balls approximately 1″ in size and then flatten slightly. Space balls [hahaha spaceballs!] 1 1/2 inches apart. For kicks, I sprinkled extra toffee bits on top and pressed them in slightly. Bake 14-18 minutes, turning halfway through bake time.

A treat in a jiffy! Get it?!

– Sharlene

1 Comment »

  1. Joanne Said:

    I bring my own food on airplanes all the time! I think it’s just international flights that have restrictions.

    love the peanut butter toffee combination! I’ve never had that before but it sounds quite delicious.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

