Almond Cakes

I am a stress baker through and through. At times when I’m already feeling overwhelmed with school and life (which is pretty much a daily event) I make time to bake (for my waistline’s sake, I resist the urge to bake every day). It’s not even always a relaxing experience to tell you the truth. Sometimes I wake up with this urge craving burning desire RESOLVE that I’m going to bake that day. Often this is after a day or two of wanting to bake but not being able to for various reasons. I have no butter. I’ve been on my feet for 12 hours straight and didn’t eat and all I want to do is curl up in a ball and cry. It’s 8pm, I just got home, I have to be up at 4, and I still have 3 hours of studying to do along with making and eating dinner. Sometimes, though, I randomly wake up and decide before I even get out of bed that today is a day for baking. And once I make that decision, it has to happen even if all those excuses I mentioned still apply. Therefore, I end up staying late and getting 5 hours of sleep because I was creaming butter and sugar instead of studying the management of diarrhea.

Does anyone else have this compulsive baking problem?

No?

Just me?

Okay then.

Yesterday was a different story. I didn’t wake up with the need to bake. I baked this past weekend, why did I need to bake again so soon? (Incidentally, they were green tea cupcakes with strawberry mascarpone filling — deliciousness. Recipe will be up after next weekend when I bake them for a friend’s sister’s baby shower.) I didn’t even have a busy day. I sat around in lectures and wasn’t particularly tired. And yet, I felt like baking.

I had spotted these Almond Cakes a little while ago and have been wanting to make them especially since I attempted to make mochi last month and had leftover glutinous flour. They were exactly what I needed. I used a mini muffin tin instead of a regularly sized one since the post mentioned that the original cakes these are modeled after were half-dollar-sized. Little bites of slightly sticky almond goodness. And so simple they were on my table and cooled in an hour. My kind of recipe.

Almond Cakes

adapted from a bird in the kitchen

Makes 18 mini-cakes or 8 (per original recipe) cakes.

Ingredients

4 tablespoons butter, softened
1/3 cup sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoons almond extract
1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon coconut milk
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons glutinous rice flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Garnish
1 tablespoon ground almonds [I tried to use the almond meal/flour you see in the picture. Note: this did not do anything.]

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350F. Prepare mini-muffin/cupcake tin with non-stick cooking spray [I tried the cupcake liner thing and don’t recommend it. The cakes are so sticky that they just stuck to the liners.]

Cream together butter and sugar. Add egg, almond extract, and coconut milk. until thoroughly combined. Add rice flour and baking powder.

Divide among muffin tin. Sprinkle ground almonds over batter if using. Bake for ~ 20 minutes or until golden (original recipe has 30 minutes for regular sized cakes). Remove from muffin tin immediately and let cool to room temperature before serving.

Bon appetito!

– Sharlene

3 Comments »

  1. Boy Said:

    I always getting a burning urge to bake everyday, but then i realize i don’t know how to bake.

  2. […] almond cakes for snacking while baking on […]

  3. […] almond cakes for snacking while baking on […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

