DB April – Maple Mousse in a Bacon Container

I realize that many of you think this is a crime punishable by law but.. I don’t really love bacon.

I like bacon, yes. I think it smells fantastic. Bacon grease is an excellent way to add flavor to pretty much anything. However, when it comes to breakfast I prefer hearty, fatty sausage to bacon. I find that my perfectly cooked bacon is not always how others make it and I’m also terrible at making bacon the way I want it. In the end, it often amounts to a lot of grease with not-super-awesome texture. I’m usually left wanting.

So when I found out that this month’s Daring Bakers challenge was a maple mousse served in bacon cups I was a little underwhelmed. I’m typically excited upon finding out the challenge and immediately start thinking about when I can make it and who I can serve it to. This time, I waited until the very last minute before leaving for China and just made a single one for myself in case it wasn’t fit for sharing.

I was so wrong. After bite numero uno, I started kicking myself for not making more. Baking the bacon in the oven for exactly 27 minutes yielded a perfectly crisp complement to the smooth and slightly sweet maple mousse. The combination together is indescribably good. I licked my plate afterwards and I’m not afraid to say it. This was a winner.

The April 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Evelyne of the blog Cheap Ethnic Eatz. Evelyne chose to challenge everyone to make a maple mousse in an edible container. Prizes are being awarded to the most creative edible container and filling, so vote on your favorite from April 27th to May 27th at http://thedaringkitchen.com!

5 Comments »

  1. Sues Said:

    What a unique and interesting challenge! This looks SOO good!! :)

  2. I think bacon is just OK as well.. I’m all about breakfast sausages. This looks like a really fun recipe and the flavor combo sounds like it would be delicious!

  3. Joanne Said:

    Not gonna lie, I’m SO not a big bacon fan either…but combine it with maple? And I think I could be converted. Big time.

  4. jessica Said:

    This looks so good! I am loving the maple mouse! SO interesting

  5. What an interesting challenge. I like the DB pushes you to try things you wouldn’t otherwise :)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

