Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins

I’m leaving for China this coming Sunday. (Can I get a what WHAT??) Don’t worry, I have posts lined up while I’m gone.

There are errands to do, ends to tie up (as it’s also my last week of school), things to buy, and bags to pack. In all the frenzy, I developed a craving for muffins. Something I can run out the door with and get enough of an energy boost to keep me going. Cue wonderful muffin recipe falling into my lap.

These muffins are delicious. They’re grainy and healthy tasting but with just enough chocolate to satisfy my sweet tooth. The hint of cinnamon in the background of it all doesn’t hurt either. And bonus you don’t even need to break out any electrical mixers for this – it can all be done with a whisk and a spatula inĀ  just two bowls. Oh yes, this recipe is all kinds of wonderful.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to call my credit card company so that I don’t get completely cut off in the middle of China.

PS. Have you been to China? We’re going to Beijing, Shanghai, and Hanzhou with a day trip to the Great Wall (we’re thinking Mutianyu). Any recommendations/tips/advice are much appreciated.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins
adapted from How Sweet It Is

Makes 12 muffins.

Ingredients

  • 1 c rolled oats
  • 1 c milk, divided (I used whole)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 c light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 c (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 c white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 c semisweet chocolate chips

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350F. Line muffin tin with paper liners or grease with nonstick spray.

In a small bowl, mix rolled oats and 1/2 c milk. Set aside for 5 minutes.

In a separate bowl, whisk together egg and brown sugar until caramel-colored and well combined. Add in vanilla and butter and whisk until combined (some chunks are okay). Add in oat mixture, flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Mix. Stir in remaining 1/2 c milk. Finally fold in chocolate chips. Portion out about 1/4 c batter per muffin cup and bake for 18-20 minutes.

I didn’t even share these with Boy. I ate all of them myself. Yum!

9 Comments »

  1. Shawn Said:

    Oats, Butter, & Chocolate….Yummy!

    Wishing you safe and happy travels :)

  2. Ooo! China! I was there in ’06 and I liked it mucho. You can’t go wrong with all of the cities you are going to, but i must say that if you in any way see Hong Kong then you must take the ferry to Macau and have African Chicken—it is delicious!

    Enjoy your trip!!! :)

  3. Mandy Szeto Said:

    have fun!! stay safe :) blend in :P

  4. Have an awesome time and be safe. Love teh muffins!

  5. Joanne Said:

    I can barely live with you in another state let alone ANOTHER COUNTRY. I’m going to hyperventilate. And miss you to maximum capacity. We need to see each other when you get back.

    Have FUN.

    I want these muffins. They sound like good studying fuel.

  6. briarrose Said:

    Yum….looks like a great muffin to give you energy to pack and tie up the bazillion things before travel time. :)

  7. Sues Said:

    Ooh chocolate chips are the best thing to add to an oatmeal muffin :) Have a BLAST in China!! :)

  8. Mmm I love the flavor and texture of oatmeal in baked goods. I like the pairing with chocolate to make it a little more indulgent :).

  9. Jessica Said:

    They look so great! I love muffins so adding choc chips to it is awesome


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

