Gingerbread Cupcakes

I’ll be honest. I’m not the biggest fan of gingerbread in the world. I love spiced things but I think it’s the molasses. I’m not sure. For some reason, gingerbread’s just not my favorite.

But I saw this recipe and, knowing that gingerbread is a classic holiday treat, figured I’d give it a whirl for the holiday party I hosted this past weekend. I made multiple types of mini-cupcakes including these, the tiramisu cupcakes, and a peppermint mocha cupcake (look for the recipe later this week). I’ve been looking for the perfect time to make a slew of minis and this was it! Even for people who don’t like dessert, it’s difficult to pass up such a little teeny tiny cupcake (and once they eat one it’s hard to resist another).

So I tried out this new gingerbread application and wouldn’t you know, the cream cheese frosting perfectly offsets the dark molasses flavor and I popped more than my share of these minis! If you’re not a fan of gingerbread I highly recommend these babies.

Gingerbread Cupcakes
adapted from Full Circle, originally from Gourmet

Makes ~ 36 mini-cupcakes.

Ingredients
For cake:

  • 1 1/4 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground allspice
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 stick (1/4 c) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c molasses
  • 1 large egg, beaten lightly
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1 tsp baking soda

For frosting:

  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 8 oz cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 c confectioners’ sugar, sifted (more if you like your frosting sweeter)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions
For cake: Preheat oven to 350F. Line mini-cupcake tins with paper liners.

Sift together flour, ginger, cinnamon, allspice, cloves, and salt in a medium bowl. Set aside.

Using a stand or hand mixer, cream butter then add granulated sugar, mixing until fluffy. Beat in molasses and the egg until smooth. Meanwhile, bring water to a boil in a small pot. Once boiling, add in baking soda and stir to dissolve. Add this into the molasses mixture and mix. Add in the flour mixture and mix just until combined. Fill cupcake liners about 1/2 full with batter and bake for 10-12 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

For frosting: In a clean bowl, cream together butter and cream cheese. Add in the sugar and vanilla and beat until the fluffy and smooth. Taste and add sugar as desired. Pipe or spread onto cooled cupcakes.

Are you a fan of gingerbread?

9 Comments »

  1. Kimmie Said:

    Those are beautiful!!! I’m so glad you liked them!

  2. briarrose Said:

    Just precious! Lovely job.

  3. These look fantastic. I love gingerbread!

  4. Very festive cucpakes! I love them :)

  5. Joanne Said:

    You and I are so alike that it baffles me. I truly cannot stand the taste of molasses. So you know what I started doing? Substituting in pomegranate molasses for it. The flavors are nothing alike at all, but I like it way better!

    To be fair, though, I love anything with cream cheese frosting on it so in reality I’m sure I would love these.

  6. What a great idea. these look delish and I love the recipe. Thanks so much for sharing.

    xo

  7. I’m glad you finally met your gingerbread match 8D. I personally love the taste of molasses so I’d probably be shoveling these 2 at a time into my mouth if you set a plate in front of me. Oops, I didn’t mean to say that out loud…now you’ll never invite me over ;p.

  8. These look great. I bet they would be fantastic nestled inside some chocolate brownies!

  9. Rose Gold Said:

    It looks yummy. The recipe is very simple and so easy to make but I don’t think so that I can make the frostings so perfect like that. LOL.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

