Lychee Coconut Sorbet

So let me tell you about Boy’s birthday extravaganza!

All-in-all the dinner was a huge success but it wasn’t without its bumps in the road. Also, if I didn’t start the night before and then start the day of at noon we would have eaten at midnight. I’m not a very organized cook. I’m definitely a much better baker.

But so it goes. He loved it anyway.

(And we all know he’d have loved anything I made – or at least said he loved it.)

First course, Momofuku’s Pork Belly Buns adapted from epicurious.

High points: They were absolutely delicious and tasted very much like the original buns that I had with Joanne. (Hi Joanne!) Assembly was quite easy as was the actually pork belly part. Plus, they make for a beautiful looking appetizer. Boy loves him some pork belly!

Low points: I couldn’t, for the life of me, get my bun dough to cooperate. The yeast wasn’t having it, the flour to water ratio seemed off, and a box of dry milk ran me $10. After several attempts, two the night before and one the day of, I ran out to the Asian store for some frozen premade buns which still tasted delicious so I highly recommend it.

Next course, Wine-Braised Beef Short Ribs from No Recipes with Wilted Watercress from epicurious and jasmine rice.

High points: Everything. This was super easy to make. For the beef, you just throw everything into a pot and let it simmer away for a few hours until it’s beautifully tender and dark! I used a cheaper bottle of red wine and it came out perfect. The watercress took minutes and was a perfect side to the beef.

Low points: Nothing!

And for dessert, Lychee Coconut Sorbet from epicurious with Vermicelli Crisps from epicurious and the October Daring Bakers Challenge.

Can’t show you the Challenge dish yet but I thought I’d share the recipe for the sorbet since it was so delicious and super easy.

Lychee Coconut Sorbet
adapted from epicurious

Makes 1 pint.

Ingredients

  • 1 can lychees in syrup
  • 1/2 c well-stirred cream of coconut (Coco Lopez brand preferred; this is NOT coconut milk and NOT coconut cream)
  • juice of one lime, plus more if desired

* also need a pre-frozen ice cream maker

Instructions

Drain lychees, reserving syrup.

Combine lychees, cream of coconut, 1/4 c syrup, and lime juice in a blender until smooth. Strain to remove leftover lychee pulp and taste, adding more lime if desired. Refrigerate until cold.

Freeze in pre-frozen ice cream maker.

Vermicelli Crisps
adapted from epicurious

Ingredients

  • Dried rice vermicelli (rice-stick noodles)
  • Enough vegetable oil for 1 1/2 inches of oil in whatever vessel you are frying in
  • Powdered sugar

*also need a deep-frying or candy thermometer

Instructions

Soak noodles in cold water until pliable. (This took me about an hour.) Drain, pat dry, and spread on paper towels to air-dry for about 30 minutes.

When ready to fry, begin heating oil until thermometer reads 350F.

Gather mounds of noodles (about 1 tbsp) and pull apart slightly to form a loose tangle. Drop tangles into oil and fry until crisp. about 20 seconds. They will sink, the oil will bubble, and then the noodles will rise to the surface for the duration of frying. Use a slotted spoon to pull crisps out of oil and drain on paper towels. Dust with powdered sugar.

Dinner was a lot of work but definitely worth every bit of effort. It was a wonderful birthday for Boy!

Tune in on Wednesday to find out how the Daring Bakers October challenge went!

12 Comments »

  1. Wow what a feast! I’m with you on buying the buns frozen, they’re tough to make from scratch. I’m glad you liked the short ribs:-)

  2. Joanne Said:

    I’m so glad that everything turned out okay even after all of the pork bun mishaps! I’m going to try that recipe and see what happens. I’ll keep you posted. But I will also head over to chinatown and buy some premade buns. just in case. I’ll need the pork belly to cure my frustrations if it doesn’t work. And also to celebrate if it does.

    Those short ribs look amazing! I might put you in charge of cooking MY birthday dinner. :P

  3. What a great evening. Love the exotic sounding sorbet.

  4. Sues Said:

    I’m so impressed you made all these beautiful dishes. Everything looks wonderful!

  5. I am impressed! Don’t know if I could ever attack such a sophisticated three course dinner.

    Those pork belly buns look so good! I’ve never had them and think I’m going to go look for some this weekend. :)

  6. shawnsplate Said:

    I’m happy for you that everything went well…Your menu looks and sounds delicious. Many thanks for sharing the sorbet. I’m going to try it when my sister comes to visit next week. Also, good luck on the contest :)

  7. Velva Said:

    This is a beautiful meal. I smiled when I saw that you wrote about being a disorganized cook, and a better baker. I think you have to be very organized to be a good baker. I am much better cook than baker, because I have trouble following directions :-)

  8. That sorbet looks great! I ate lychee fruit in china a few years ago and loved the flavor. I bet this was delicious!

  9. […] to do Lychee Coconut Sorbet […]

  10. What a lovely treat, Sharlene. The fried noodle garnishes are fantastic!

  11. shawnsplate Said:

    Sharlene,
    My sister loved the sorbet…actually, we all loved it!
    Shawn

  12. stacy Said:

    give me now


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

