Daring Bakers – August

Hi friends!

Miss me?

I know. I’ve missed you too.

Funny how the last post I put up was this wonderful “welcome back from traveling everywhere” post and then I went missing for over a week.

My greatest apologies.

It’s no real excuse but I’ve been studying for my board exam (which I took yesterday YAYYYYYY!!) and applying to residency which goes out September 1 and then I’ll be back!!

Except not.

Because I’m spending the month of September back in NYC at another hospital doing another rotation that will most likely kick my butt.

Over the past couple of weeks though I’ve stocked up on my share of baking and am very excited to share it all with you!

First things first though, I am a day late in posting the Daring Bakers challenge for August. And let me tell you, it was a bit of a challenge!

BUT it made me finally buy an ice cream maker which Boy and I are ecstatic about. We buy ice cream all the time and this way we can come up with our own new flavors to try! So exciting.

My first foray into ice cream was a bit of a flop. I don’t think I cooked the custard long enough and instead of freezing into a soft ice cream, we had ice cream soup. Delicious ice cream soup, but still. Ice cream soup. My second try came out much better and I’m quite proud. This was tons and tons of fun.

Thanks to Elissa for hosting this month’s Daring Bakers challenge!!

Brown Butter Pound Cake Ice Cream Petit Fours

Check Elissa’s blog 17 and Baking for the recipe. Also, congratulations to her on picking up and going to college all the way in Boston when her wonderful parents are in Seattle. Good luck, Elissa!

The August 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Elissa of 17 and Baking. For the first time, The Daring Bakers partnered with Sugar High Fridays for a co-event and Elissa was the gracious hostess of both. Using the theme of beurre noisette, or browned butter, Elissa chose to challenge Daring Bakers to make a pound cake to be used in either a Baked Alaska or in Ice Cream Petit Fours. The sources for Elissa’s challenge were Gourmet magazine and David Lebovitz’s “The Perfect Scoop”.

I made the brown butter pound cake verbatim. Oh my word brown butter is amazing! The pound cake was not as dense as I had hoped it would be but the flavor of the brown butter really shined and made it delicious regardless. For the ice cream, I added 3/4 tsp of mint extract to the mixture and when it was nearly done churning, added in a few handfuls of chocolate chips to make Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream! If you do this, however, I recommend cutting down on the vanilla and chopping up your chips unless they’re minis.

Excited to see what’s in store for me next month!

I’ll be back later this week after my application’s submitted for some cupcake action. Stay tuned!


ps. I also learned this month that I can’t dip things in chocolate for beans. Any tips??

- Sharlene

3 Comments »

  1. Xiaolu Said:

    Congrats on taking your board exams and on your new ice cream maker! I’ve been wanting one forever, but can’t justify the cost and more importantly the space since we live in a small apartment. Great job on the challenge. Your bites look scrumptious!

  2. Joanne Said:

    Yay! you are done! (ish) And you are coming to NYC! And we are going to make cereal milk ice cream!

    I have to be honest, my first ice cream attempt turned out like soup as well. There are so many reasons why. But yeah. It was great soup.

    These look delicious! In my experience with chocolate dipping, you’ve just gotta throw the whole thing in there and not be afraid to cover yourself in chocolate as well.

  3. Sues Said:

    Congrats on taking your board exam!!! This look SO cute. I’ve been wanting to try browning butter forever and I think I have to try it soon! Dippings things in chocolate and having them look neat IS totally hard!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

